Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Amazon Music Unlimited subscribers can play 40 million songs, thousands of playlists and ad-free stations including new releases. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Unearthed has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £24.99

Unearthed Box set, Limited Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 22 customer reviews

Price: £80.03 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Unearthed Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Limited Edition, 19 Jan 2004
£80.03 £62.48
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
AutoRip is available only for eligible CDs and vinyl sold by Amazon EU Sarl (but does not apply to gift orders or PrimeNow orders). See Terms and Conditions for full details, including costs which may apply for the MP3 version in case of order returns or cancellations.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
3 new from £80.03 7 used from £62.48 1 collectible from £60.00

Amazon's Johnny Cash Store

Frequently bought together

  • Unearthed
  • +
  • Unchained
  • +
  • American V: A Hundred Highways
Total price: £92.01
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (19 Jan. 2004)
  • Limited Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Format: Box set, Limited Edition
  • Label: Commercial Marketing
  • ASIN: B0000TLA9Q
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 22 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 68,282 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Long Black Veil
  2. Flesh And Blood
  3. Just The Other Side Of Nowhere
  4. If I Give My Soul
  5. Understand Your Man
  6. Banks Of The Ohio
  7. Two Timin' Woman
  8. The Caretaker
  9. Old Chunk Of Coal
  10. I'm Going To Memphis
  11. Breaking Bread
  12. Waiting For A Train
  13. Casey's Last Ride
  14. No Earthly Good
  15. The Fourth Man In The Fire
  16. Dark As A Dungeon
  17. Book Review
  18. Down There By The Train

Disc: 2

  1. Pocahontas
  2. I'm A Drifter
  3. Trouble In Mind
  4. Down The Line
  5. I'm Movin' On
  6. As Long As The Grass Shall Grow
  7. Heart Of Gold
  8. The Running Kind - Johnny Cash, Tom Petty
  9. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
  10. Brown Eyed Handsome Man - Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins
  11. "T" For Texas
  12. Devil's Right Hand
  13. I'm A Drifter
  14. Like A Soldier - Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson
  15. Drive On
  16. Bird On A Wire

Disc: 3

  1. A Singer Of Songs
  2. The L & N Don't Stop Here Anymore
  3. Redemption Song - Johnny Cash, Joe Strummer
  4. Father And Son - Johnny Cash, Fiona Apple
  5. Chattanooga Sugar Babe
  6. He Stopped Loving Her Today
  7. Hard Times
  8. Wichita Lineman
  9. Cindy - Johnny Cash, Nick Cave
  10. Big Iron
  11. Salty Dog
  12. Gentle On My Mind - Johnny Cash, Glen Campbell
  13. You Are My Sunshine
  14. You'll Never Walk Alone
  15. The Man Comes Around

Disc: 4

  1. Delia's Gone
  2. Bird On A Wire
  3. Thirteen
  4. Rowboat
  5. The One Rose (That's Left In My Heart)
  6. Rusty Cage
  7. Southern Accents
  8. The Mercy Seat
  9. Solitary Man
  10. Wayfaring Stranger
  11. One
  12. I Hung My Head
  13. The Man Comes Around
  14. We'll Meet Again
  15. Hurt

Product description

Product Description

Produced by Rick Rubin - the instigator of Johnny Cash's seminal American Recordings series. Cash "Unearthed" houses 64 never-before-heard songs from the Man in Black, spread over four discs. A fifth disc, titled My Mother's Hymn Book, is a complete, previously unreleased solo acoustic spiritual album. The deluxe packaging includes a 104-page, cloth-bound book; never-before-seen photographs; and Cash's personal commentary on every song in the box.

Over the course of five mesmerising CDs, Unearthed shows us just how Johnny Cash's now-legendary handful of recordings for American Records came to be. Four discs feature previously unreleased tracks from the famed Rick Rubin-produced sessions. Through their inconsistencies and quirks (and, more often than not, brilliance), they shed light on how Cash's final records were shaped, edited and produced. Here we get some creative pairings: Fiona Apple providing guest vocals on Cat Stevens' "Father & Son" and the late Joe Strummer duetting with Cash on Bob Marley's "Redemption Song". Neither are the definitive statements that some of Cash's covers from this period are (his glorious takes on Nick Lowe and Danzig, to name just two), but they're still very much worth hearing.

Most riveting are the numerous traditional numbers, the songs that were clearly closest to the Man in Black's heart. "Banks of the Ohio", Billy Joe Shaver's "Old Chunk of Coal", Stephen Foster's "Hard Times" and the entire disc of previously unreleased gospel tunes are powerful statements, tunes where you feel privileged to hear Cash--despite declining health and failing voice--sing one more time, the way he wanted. The last disc of this monumental set is a "best-of" compilation of tracks that did make it on the American individual discs, a reminder of just how groundbreaking these sessions were. Perhaps the biggest highlight in this awe-inspiring set is its vast liner note, a loving collection of essays and recollections that highlight the history and stories behind this eclectic array of songs. --Jason Verlinde

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 22 customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

27 October 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
18 April 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
1 November 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
12 September 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
16 March 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
5 February 2004
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
6 December 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
4 May 2011
Format: MP3 Download|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?