Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2015
What more can be said about this album that probably hasn't already been said. Tool are a band that bend the genres of music between rock, progressive, psychedelic and grunge with downbeat tempos infused with the haunting vocals of James Maynard Keenan. Having followed the bands career for many years, owning this on vinyl has been a want and must of my music collection for many years so i'm pleased to have completed my "vinyl bucket list" with the adding of Undertow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2000
....bettered only by the one that followed it, 'Aenima', in my opinion. This is a seminal album, and one that no-one had expected after their debut release 'Opiate'. This album is awesome and so atmospheric. On this one the band really set out their musical and lyrical agenda, and stake out the territory that they have claimed as their own. It contains all you need - great noisy music, mindblowing lyrics, fantastic musicianship, a truly great cover, and a touch of Henry Rollins (okay, you probably don't need this!). It's hard to write objectively about Tool without sounding like their PR man, but they are just so cool. In a way they are anti-stars, leading us up blind alleys and dark cul-de-sacs in order to encourage us to think for ourselves. Every Tool album should come with a pinch of salt - believe nothing they tell us, and they're right, of course, but this not really the right forum for that sort of discussion. Suffice to say that Tool are a breath of fresh air.
If you only buy two albums in your life, make this the second, after 'Aenima'!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
It is Tool. Instant love.
Arrived well on time, perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Great album and great sounding record
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Masterpiece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
I missed the Tool boat when they emerged in the 90's and have only just recently discovered them, I was surprised that they have released so few titles so instantly purchased them all and have spent the past few months listening to them and it is this CD that has remained in my CD player. It is not as lengthy or as complex as their later releases but it sows the seeds and shows signs of what was to come. The production is incredible, stripped down with very little over dubbing yet incredible powerful and heavy, but not over layered like later bands. The vocals are fairly low in the mix but are haunting and beautiful at the same time ("i have gone to great lengths to expand my threshold of pain")

Tool are from the punk / metal camp but are so much more than this with unusual time signatures, melodies, and technical prowess that doesn't show off.

This is a great album and deserves to be bought and replayed for each time something new is heard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Why the double claws on the cover you wonder?

And why the sound of crickets for 8 minutes and the message from the landlord at the end?

These mysteries can only be unraveled when listening to the album Undertow (the record featuring the pig with the shaved words in its fur and knives and forks sticking out of the alter beneath it)

It is an interesting album this, its philosophical and eye opening and highly relevant to anyone calling themselves a follower of Christ.

I must for your church library.
All the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
This was the first tool album I owned. At first I thought it was "good", but after you really listen to it you realise what a true masterpiece it really is. The whole album grows with you, each track compliments the others on the album. Melancholy lyrics combine with churning guitars, tight baselines and solid drum rhythm. I've heard this album referred to as progressive metal. It truely is. No bands from the nu-metal fold ome even close to the dark majecty that is tool. Listen to this album as a whole.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2002
Well guys (and girls) you know the score this is Tool after all. Could they ever produce anything not worthy of 5 stars. This album is no aenima but is a classic nonetheless. It is more brutal and primative. Yet more touching with songs such as crawl away and 8 degrees. An absolute must for any rock fan, you will not regret buying this cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.46

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)