Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2014
If you are considering using RAW photography, or have just ventured into it, then this is a book for you. The author has achieved what he set out to do. The first half of the book explains what RAW photography is, and how this relates to the various functions of a digital camera. The second half shows you what can be achieved with editing software.
After a couple of introductory chapters on RAW cameras, how computers work with RAW files and the impact of lenses on photographs, the book becomes seriously informative on using your camera to take RAW images. Shutter speed, aperture, depth of field, the use of metering, histograms, etc., etc., are all gone into sufficient detail to enable you to take control of the pictures at the camera end of the process before you begin to edit the result. This way you can start with good basic material instead of using an editing program to attempt to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. This information is changing me from a 'snapper' to a 'photographer' (after many years!). Two helpful chapters on workflow and image storage precede really important sections on how to use various editing suites, such as Adobe Camera RAW and Adobe Lightroom. One weakness of this book is that the author does not offer advice or support for the free editing software that is available. After being enlightened by the potential of Adobe products (generally out of my pocket's ability) you will need to get a manual on Paint or Gimp.
I, personally, would use these latter chapters as an overview rather than step-by-step tuition. I opted for "Teach Yourself Photoshop Elements 12", (a 50-part course from Future Publishing) to get at the detail.
However, Understanding RAW Photography is a really helpful introduction for complete RAW beginners. Make sure you have a really good manual for your camera, and detailed instruction on your preferred editing software. Then you'll be a photographer!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I liked the book as it took a difficult subject (for a beginner) and made it more understandable. I would recommend it to anyone who needs to have a straightforward explanation of RAW and how to use it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
I've been shooting in RAW for a couple of years now & felt that I had sort of grasped it, but there were things I wasn't sure about. This book fills in the gaps for me & although only part way through I have already learned things. It is well written, with concise explanations of the various aspects of photography & how they apply to RAW. Haven't got to the software section yet, but am looking forward to that!! A very worthwhile addition to the bookshelf.
Update 17/4/15 - I have now finished reading through the book. I only post-process in Lightroom so I didn't bother to read the chapter on Adobe Camera Raw. The chapter on Lightroom is, inevitably, very high level but is does give an insight into how to use two of the modules. Obviously there are complete books dedicated to LR and how to get the best from it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
This is an excellent book on the subject and very good value for money.

It is written by someone who knows his subject very well but also is a renowned photographer in his own right.

I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about Raw processing.

Mezzo
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
I just finished reading Understanding RAW Photography (The Expanded Guide: Techniques) and gave it 4 stars. Easy to understand and enjoyable to read. The author explains in a concise and understandable way the basics of RAW photography. Further he outlines in two chapters how apply the gained knowledge in Adobe Camera Raw and Lightroom. I would have loved to see few step by step examples how to get the most out of a RAW image.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I suppose like most photography books the author has to assume that the reader knows very little regarding exposure, white balance etc, however saying that it is always worth reviewing the basics from time to time. Part of the book is aimed at software packages that are available for RAW image development, so not a bad book to have around.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
The first 110 pages of this book are devoted to the basics of photography. All of these pages are covered very comprehensively by other general digital photography books and camera manuals.
Part of the remaining 82 pages is taken up with glossary and index and archiving and Lightroom. The RAW content is very elementary.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Excellent book, David Taylor writes clearly and concisely. Easy to follow with lots of hints and tips. Still working through the material but my understanding of the use of RAW files has improved immeasurably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Need to understand the possibilities of a new camera with RAW recording...early days but seems easy to read about what can be a complicated subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Explains Raw in an easy "ish" way as it is a complicated subject very informative and a nice compact size, very fast delivery very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)