Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2010
This book is a feast for the eyes with numerous photographs, drawings and details, a must for any Building Surveyor.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
This book is actually written by a lecturer of mine and I can assure you he knows his stuff and is interested in the subject!

The book gives a good overview of housing defects with pictures to show their tell-tale signs, advice on what to do next and how to prevent the problem altogether.

If you are looking for very specific detail on a certain defect however, this prob isn't the one for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
It's a pity the book isn't hard-cover as it's quite big and I can't see it lasting (hence the 4 stars); nonetheless the content is superb - I'm a practicing building surveyor and it's a great reference. Buy it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
I found this book very useful in giving me a better understanding of housing defects. It is easy to read with clear explanations which are enhanced by the use of good-quality annotated colour pictures, diagrams and photographs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
This book is very easy to read detailing typical defects of old and modern construction techniques. Well worth students and professionals alike purchasing for reference and to broaden technical knowledge. This book should be complimented with Construction Handbook Edition 8(Chudley)also refered to has the Bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
This 3rd Edition with its colour photos & graphics is an excellent ready reference book.
It is clearly written and covers a broad range of defects to a sufficient depth for both the practitioner, student or competent DIYer. It should be compulsory reading for cowboy builders!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Really useful book for anybody on a Building Surveying Course. I have had lectures form 2 of the authors, and they are really experienced and knowledgeable. Perfect book if you are studying building defects, or as a reference for further study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
Concisely written and easy to understand. Covers every aspect of building maintenance - not just housing but all types of property. Recommend that it should be on the bookshelf of all property and facility managers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
Brilliantly clear. I am a maintenance manager and use this book weekly and save my company hundreds in the process by not calling out specialists to diagnose problems. Well-written with great drawings and advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
This is such a useful book, informative and straight forward - it certainly helped me get that distinction - love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)