Buy Used
£1.25
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Underground: A Greywalker Novel Hardcover – 5 Aug 2008

4.8 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£1.25
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 344 pages
  • Publisher: Roc; First Printing edition (5 Aug. 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451462122
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451462121
  • Product Dimensions: 16.4 x 3.1 x 23.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,528,035 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

aA great heroine.a
a"New York Times" bestselling author Charlaine Harris

"Richardson crafts a creepy and downright scary supernatural thriller."
-Romantic Times
"Part Indian folklore, part detailed urban history, part PI procedural, part monster-from-the-depths horror story."
-Booklist
"Following in the tradition of Tanya Huff and Jim Butcher, this is a strong addition to the growing body of urban fantasy mysteries."
-Library Journal

-Richardson crafts a creepy and downright scary supernatural thriller.-
-Romantic Times
-Part Indian folklore, part detailed urban history, part PI procedural, part monster-from-the-depths horror story.-
-Booklist
-Following in the tradition of Tanya Huff and Jim Butcher, this is a strong addition to the growing body of urban fantasy mysteries.-
-Library Journal --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

Third book in Kat Richardson's acclaimed urban fantasy GREYWALKER series --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Having loved the previous two books in the series I took a break for a few days before starting this offering in case I was just in a good mood for the time of year (hey we're talking British Summer here folks, that rare and wonderful thing where you get three hours of sunshine against seven days of rain. LOL) so was a tad worried when I started it that I really couldn't get straight back in to the tale. I was wrong on that front as I was immediately hooked and yet again found my time was literally sucked through a portal to end up quite late at night and me suddenly thinking where had my time gone. A great series and one that I really can't recommend enough for those looking for something different in the Supernatural genre. What Jim did for Wizards, Kat has done for her own unique outlook on the world. Definitely a tale worth the read and definitely a high quality series to compare others by.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By PJ Rankine VINE VOICE on 30 Jan. 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I won't bother expanding on the previous review because it covers the synopsis very well, suffice it to say that Harper Blaine is back and Kat Richardson goes from strength to strength in this latest episode. Her books are well written and literate and exhibit a style and technique beyond what is essentially pulp fiction. Kat; if you're reading this, please take that as a compliment. Her description of the Seattle underground is so vivid that it made me want to go there and see it for myself and demonstrates the amount of research she puts into her work. The characters are well developed and its nice to see old friends are not forgotten. Hope to see the detective getting a bigger mention in a later work. In a genre heavily populated with dross this series is pure class.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Underground is the third book in Kat Richardson's Greywalker series, and if you haven't already read the first two books (Greywalker and Poltergeist) I would highly recommend that you do before starting into this one.

Harper Blaine is a private investigator with some extra talents - as the result of dying and being rescusitated two minutes later she now sees ghosts and can manipulate 'the grey'.(It's just a bit too complicated to explain fully here) Needless to say her new abilities have been landing her some strange new cases dealing with ghosts, necromancers, vampires and other things that go bump in the night.

In Underground, Quinton (a friend of Harper's) - fearing he may be implicated in their deaths - comes to Harper looking for help after a number of homeless people from the underground community of Seattle have been found, oddly bloodless and chewed on by some sort of creature...

Harper as a character has developed from previous books. She's far more comfortable with her skills, better able to use them, and needing far less guidance and help from others to deal with them. She's no more powerful, but she is more confident. I also liked finding out more about Quinton and his backstory and I enjoyed the greater role he had in this book to that in previous books in the series.

I found this book to be quite spooky and sinister and full of tension, twists and turns - much more so than many other Urban Fantasy novels anyway. Kat Richardson's books aren't quite as eerily terrifying as Cherie Priest's books but they're not far off at times. I'll be looking forward to more by this author in the future.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I enjoyed this book. The characters are sufficiently well rounded to carry a series and there is scope for development. On the strength of this first offering I bought the next two in the series. Well paced but skip the pseudo scientific babble.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I am in the middle of reading all of the Kat Richardson Greywalker books. They have plot, characters you can relate to and the added element of the supernatural.
Underground was a superb addition to the series and I was delighted to learn more about Quinton, to confirm suspicions I had!
If you enjoyed the others, you can't fail to enjoy this one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category