Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2015
The love shown by this remarkable author and archaeologist for his hero is an undying testament to the virtues of government which Ramses the Great embodied: at least we may believe that Ramses did indeed embody them, and if he did or not, Christian Jacq's characterisation is sufficiently powerful, in his series of books for which this is the crowning glory, to create a hero by which all might feel inspired. Few people try to get inside the inherent goodness of Ramses II the way Christian Jacq does. It is all too frequent that the most famous leader of Ancient Egypt is used as an icon for warlording and self-glorification (given his conquests), or demonisation (given that the Jewish Exodus and thence much of Western civilisation prefers to paint him in an adversarial and consequently unjust light). The novels calmly balance conflicting ideals and express a nobility of character and of government reminiscent of the wisdom of Sun Tzu and other leaders who brought peace in the midst of warring nations. In this, the author has balanced the challenges of historical dramatisation with an unerring sense of following the greatness of spirit which each and every individual can seek within him or herself. His description of the "law of Ma'at", as Ancient Egyptians called it, is equally applicable to all religions or none and a valuable contribution to an era where so many nations live in such close (and not always equable) proximity to each other. The superstitious elements are not that far from other patriarchal religions, but the constant Egyptian idea of preparing for the 'afterlife' (whether or not there is an afterlife) is seen in practice to be one that supplies numerous strong principles of character and equitable co-existence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I enjoyed the first three books in this series about Ramses. However, Christian Jacq seemed to run out of ideas, and the remaining books became annoyingly repetitive. Very disappointing! Ramses would be turning in his tomb if he read this tripe!!
Tom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
One of a series of five books of the chronology of Pharoh Ramses and his Royal Wife Nefetari. Excellently written by an obvious expert - a professor of Egyptology. He links the events of the couples real lives with the art of the story-teller. After having visited Egypt recently, these books throw much light on some things we heard and saw but did not quite understand. Should be read by all visitors to the Land of the Pharohs but preferably before the visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2003
I was brought this book to go on holiday with. Not actually have read the first four books, I was disorientated on what was going on. But after reading the book, I wanted to get the other four. Even though I made sense of what was going on.
Theres backstabbing and love, intrigue and curiosity.
I found this book brilliant, and after reading Wilbur Smith's three books of his Egyptian Epic, I could not put this book down. I would recommend this book to all my family and friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2002
Enjoyable, if a little light-weight. Having said that, the previous books in the series were not exactly heavy going.
I found the balance between historical fact and novel writing to be fine. Illustrations (or even photographs) of relevant archeological remains/discoveries would have helped, as would more detailed land maps. But I suspect, the inclusion of such things would have been further than the author intended to go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2000
Book five in the series of five, I could see in four where this would be going, but this series has been most enjoyable and informative I have read. You think this is the end, your wrong I already have the next which I purchased in Duty Free well ahead of the UK launch!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Book was in much poorer condition than described and was also an ex library copy. This was not advised. This was bought as a xmas gift & I was embarrassed to give it. Also took far longer to arrive than expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
I enjoyed this book. There is the occasional typo or odd translation, but it moves forward at a gentle pace, with evocative descriptions. I like the way the chapters are short and the paragraphs create scenes. The characters do develop and although there are occasional scenes that don't always 'ring true', is was a satisfying read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2000
Brilliant book from start to finish. A great conclusion to one of the best series of books I have ever read. Jacq is the master of this genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I have chosen to write a review of the series on this book the series is bland badly written with many oddly named characters thrown in it shows Jacq's lack of skill and i have no idea why it is a best selling series.
The characters aren't well developed and for France's leading Egyptologist he know's little on Egypt or is simply an author severely lacking in skill
Do not but any of this series it is a waste of money and so badly written in places its painful.
if you want a good story on Ramesses the great read the Heretic queen by Michelle Moran.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse