Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 31 March 2017
Very good book! Quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I have read all of Queen of Vampires Betsy books so far. This wasnt as much fun as the previous books but it was still hilarious but on the same hand be very sad and heartbreaking. We read about the repercussions that have occurred due to Betsy interference in her recent time travel adventure which incidentally changed alot of things about the present she was living in. She discovered that Christian Loboutin doesnt exist in the new present timeline - horrors of horrors!!!! Betsy nearly has a heart attack over it which I found totally hilarious. Looking forward to reading the next book in Betsy installment as the book leaves you with a list of questions regarding her next move.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 July 2011
Oh dear. When a book begins with the author effectively apologising and thanking readers for sticking with them because they might have "assumed I'd lost my teeny, tiny mind after 'Unfinished', but hung in anyway", you know things are unlikely to be good. Especially when the author then goes on to justify their writing by explaining that this is effectively book 2 of a trilogy within a series, following on from the tripe that was 'Unfinished'... and planning to carry this on for another book. ARGH!

In the past, I have quite enjoyed MJD's writing. It can be idiomatic, fast-paced and quite a lot of fun. However, the Betsy series has been going rapidly downhill since book 4. I'd hung in there but, having read 'Undead and Undermined', I have finally decided to give up on the series - and probably all of the rest of this author's work too.

'Undermined' picks up where 'Unfinished' left off, dealing with the aftermath of Betsy and Laura's trips i) to Hell ii) in time. Sadly, it doesn't let up on these more hokey elements - instead, using them to rehash/revise the plotlines from the previous Betsy stories: characters who didn't like one another suddenly find themselves at peace, characters who died are resurrected (whilst one who hadn't died commits suicide), and a character who wasn't pregnant is suddenly at the beginning of her third trimester.

AGAIN the timeline skips all over the place, and Betsy's transition from the likeable, slightly self-involved shoe-lover of 'Undead and Unwed' to stone-cold narcissist seems to have completed. These days, everything is about Betsy - and the occasional friendly in-joke isn't funny any more... they're simply statements of fact. Not even Betsy's relationship with husband/ vampire king Eric Sinclair is exempt... there's no power struggle any more, no fun, flirty battle of the sexes tension, instead they're "doin' it like monkeys" until she's ready to start saving the world (from her!) and he's "mewling". Puh-lease!

HATED the cover revamp, too. Would NEVER have imagined Betsy as an eighties/noughties Madonna hybrid (gapped teeth and aviator shades, with 'Music' hair). Berkley - WHY???!

If, like me, you're a tad fed up and looking for an alternative vamp series, I'd recommend Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress novels, starting with:

Halfway to the Grave: A Night Huntress Novel

The hero is basically Spike, but for many 'Buffy' fans that really isn't a bad thing!
33 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Loved the first books.
But its getting a little... much?
Think the plots getting a little thin.
Which is a shame cause the first half a dozen books were grand!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
I have been an avid fan of the Undead series and would have each book on pre order. Never again ! I have never been so utterly disapointed in a book than I was with this one. If I could give Mary Janice one piece of advise, it would be to go back and read Undead and Unwed and remember what was great about it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Lots of words, not much story. I used to enjoy this series but the last few books have lost the plot literally! Mary Janice Davidson could do so much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 July 2011
This tenth instalment in the comedy series which combines chick lit romantic comedy and vampire thriller begins, for the second time, with the heroine waking in a morgue. After time-travelling in the previous book, "Undead and unfinished" she has returned home to find herself in a parallel timeline. This continues a very "marmite" sequel storyline which some of those readers who liked the first six books will appreciate and others will hate.

On the plus side, the wacky sense of humour and new twists in the incongruous way the story mixes up "Sex in the City" with "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" still had me laughing more than once. On the minus side it's still very strange and the plot is rather disjointed.

Without wishing to "spoil" the story, let's just say that in the previous book Betsy and Laura went to the future - or at least a possible future - and met versions of their possible future selves. It was immediately obvious that both this future and the people they might become are pretty horrible, and the shock ending in the epilogue showed just how horrible.

In this book Betsy returns home to find herself in a slightly altered timeline - one which seems at first like a considerable improvement, because one friend who was dead in the timeline she came from is still alive, and other friends who hated one another in the initial timeline get on much better.

Unfortunately it is not clear which timeline leads to the horrible future in which Betsy becomes a cruel tyrant. Our heroine is willing to take extreme measures to stop that future coming true, but is she in danger of paradoxically creating it through her efforts? We'll probably find out several books down the line ...

Elizabeth Sinclair, nee Taylor, (who prefers to be called Betsy) is a fashionista and former model, who to her own astonishment has become Queen of the Vampires. She has some unusually difficult family and relationship problems

* A sister who is the antichrist, and is rebelling against her parent the devil by trying to be good (but has some lethal ideas about how to do so)

* A husband who is King of the vampires

* A baby half-brother, whose guardian she has been since her father and stepmother died, who may have some unusual characteristics of his own, and

* said stepmother occasionally comes back as a ghost to haunt Betsy, when she's not being the head receptionist to Satan in hell.

The plotlines of the first six books were more or less resolved in number six, "Undead and Uneasy." The seventh, "Undead and Unworthy," kicked off what Mary Janice Davidson calls a new "story arc." This book, "Undead and Undermined" is the fourth part of that new story.

Here is a list of the Queen Betsy stories to date (December 2013). The original six part comic series comprises:

1) "Undead and Unwed (Undead Series)"
2) "Undead and Unemployed (Undead Series)"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated (Undead Series)"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy"

There is a "Queen Betsy" novella, set at about the same time as book six, in Davidson's collection "Dead Over Heels," one of the three paranormal romance stories in that volume, and another in the similar collection "Undead and Underwater."

Then there is the follow-up series, which MJD describes as "a new story arc" featuring the same central characters, begining two months after the events of both "Undead and Uneasy" and "Dead over Heels". This consists to date of

7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)
9) "Undead and Unfinished (Undead Series)".
10) This book, "Undead and Undermined"
11) "Undead and Unstable"
12) "Undead and Unsure"

In my opinion you will get most out of these books if you read them in order. I would start with "Undead and Unwed" and work on from there.

Most of the "Queen Betsy" books are told in the first person by Betsy Taylor/Sinclair. Her style of narration is very "sex in the city" which may grate slightly on some readers, but I soon managed to get used to it. To give you an idea of that style, the first words of the series are "The day I died started out bad and got worse in a hurry."

Mary Davidson has great fun by mixing up the vampire genre as in "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" or Laurell Hamilton's "Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter" series and Chick-Lit romantic comedy as in "Sex and the City." This series is way over the top, fairly sexy, and often very funny.

An interesting comparison with other authors who have written entertaining comedies by combining incongruous genres would be with Marianne Mancusi and Robert Frezza.

In the same way that this book gets plenty of laughs by combining chick lit with Vampires, Frezza wrote two very funny books which combined Vampires and Science Fiction ("Mclendon's Syndrome" and "The VMR Theory") and Mancusi combined chick lit with time travel in "A Connecticut Fashionista at King Arthur's Court" and "A Hoboken Hipster in Sherwood Forest." Anyone who likes this book is likely to enjoy all four of those, and vice versa, if you have read and enjoyed any of those books you will probably like this one.

OK, this is never going to win the Booker Prize or any other great award for classic literature, and it is fairly raunchy, so not suitable for children. However, if you have the right sort of sense of humour, it is good fun. If you enjoyed the rest of the series, and can face staying with it after the kick in the teeth at the end of "Undead and Unfinished," you will probably like "Undead and Undermined."
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
I have found this series to be less and less funny with each release but this one did have more laugh out loud moments than the previous two or three stories.

I'm not sure I liked the twist in this story and hope that as this is part of a three book story arc I'll see a return to normal after the end of the next book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Book arrived quicker than expected - although it was new, it had a felt tip mark across the bottom of the pages - good thing it wasn't a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
Until now I've really enjoyed this series, but the storyline of the previous book wasn't up to the usual standard and this one, frankly, continues it vein tot he extent that it has failed to engage my interest enough to struggle on beyond the first few chapters. The direction the series has taken doesn't interest me in the least, and this book shows no sign of getting it back on track, so I'm not motivated to finish the book nor continue with following the series.

The chartacters are the same - Betsy is still Betsy, Sinclair is still no shows no redeemable features that might make him remotely likeable (spo it's stil a mystery why Betsy loves him) etc., and there's the "twist" of previously killed-off characters coming back from the post-undead-dead, but well written characters aren't enough to keep me following a series. I like to have a plot that I can be bothered to become interested in too.

Teddy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse