Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have a 7 year old year 3 son, who is not a maths fan, and has started to lose faith in himself, and therefore lose confidence. This game, and others in the series, have been wonderful for him.

Firstly we had no difficulty loading it onto our windows 7 laptop, and it plays with no problems. It is very straightforward to set up and play, and you can, for example, choose which times tables appear.

My tiniest of gripes is the absence of any volume control during play; you have to set this in advance on your computer, before opening the games, or be irritated by the sound effects for as long as it holds your child's attention - which seems to be a LONG time!

Great for maths confidence and speed; my maths-phobic boy loves it, so highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 February 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Like another reviewer I got this for myself so I could brush up on my maths! It helps though that I have an 8 year old son who is a reluctant student (due to his autism). To my surprise he loved it - it's based around space and rockets which are all things he loves. It was a bit advanced for him even on the easiest settings but I would think other children (normative needs) would find the whole package fun.

Came in a pack as one PC CD which basically does everything you need it to do.

Educational software which children enjoy is what EdAlive does well and we have other products of theirs which my son has got to grips with and enjoyed - as he progresses this will be of more use to him. My son likes to win (autistic trait again) and the game is quite fast-paced meaning you need to answer quickly to progress which is great if you have a child looking to brush up on the speed of his/her mental arithmatic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
To be honest I got this for myself, as a 28 year old guy looking to brush up on my maths and mental arithmetic. This, whilst aimed squarely at kids (as the box says, ages 5-15+), also serves my needs rather well.
The parameters for how complex the maths gets are fairly versatile, allowing you to begin with questions as easy as counting the number of planets in a box, for instance (something I'd imagine is ideal for younger children). This quickly progresses however up to times tables, square roots and beyond. I quickly met my match - however as it's laid out as a game of space invaders I was left with the competitive desire to better my own score. It's a clever way of making maths appealing. My wife is a teacher and, looking over my shoulder, confirmed that this would be just the sort of product to get young people learning, almost covertly! Further benefits include the ability for parents to look at how their children are progressing and even print off progress reports, which is a nice feature and a good way for parents to show their kids that they are taking an active interest in their achievements.
The only minor criticism I'd make is that this game only offers variations on the space invaders theme - some different game types would have been nice. However as this is retailing for around the £13 mark, which feels about right, so one can't ask for too much.
Overall this is a worthwhile product, both for young people learning maths for the first time as well as adults (parents included!) who feel like they need to brush up. Good stuff.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 November 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Now I am not a child between the ages of 5 and 15, however my friend kids range from the age of 6 up to 11 so they were the perfect testers of this.This is basically supposed to be a fun way for kids to want to learn maths. The theme is based around space and rockets and it has the real feel of a game you would get with a console. As soon as the kids realised that there was the ability to better there score, it was all out war. It would have been nice to see a different theme available but to be honest this kept them entertained for quite a while and it has been used on a fairly regular basis ever since. Overall, for the price tag and the wide age range, I think this is a great product that will hopefully encourage kids to learn maths!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 October 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The quick review
The concept is simple: eliminate 15 ships in each wave (arranged in 3 columns of 5) by typing the correct answer to the invader's numerical question. Repeat for the next (faster) wave. Game over if one of them reaches the bottom of the screen.

The space invaders make a satisfying explosion when hit with the correct answer and a shield rebound sound when hit with the wrong answer. Get points for each correct hit. See your final score on your personal or the global "all user" high score tables.

It's such a simple but addictive concept to test times tables and other numeracy topics. My eldest two children (9 and 6) have thoroughly enjoyed playing this (and I confess I enjoy using it instead of the boring brain training games!)

Ideal for both home and schools (the latter being able to have up to 64 classes), suitable for ages 5 upwards.

A (limited) free demo is available from EdAlive's website if you want to see for yourself.

The fine detail
There are two ways to use this program - either to just test times tables or to test all numeracy.

TIMES TABLES
On basic setting you simply select which ones you wish to test and whether you wish to do multiplication or division problems (or both). The invaders will have randomly generated questions from those tables.

However on the advanced setting you can fine tune this further selecting which way round you want your questions asked (eg 4×6 or 6×4), the highest number included (eg upto 10×2) and the frequency you want to include those questions. The customisation makes this program able to target exactly the area you want and is certainly the best on the home and school market that I've encountered as a parent and a Head of Maths.

GENERAL NUMERACY
This covers all the numeracy topics from the numbers & algebra strand of the maths national curriculum: basic counting, place value, the four rules (addition, subtraction, multiplication, division), fractions, decimals, percentages, squares & square roots, negative numbers and powers. The types of questions are carefully levelled - so for example percentages doesn't start until level 6 with simple ½ = 50% questions and progresses to level 8 with questions like 80% of 55 and 12½% of 32. Obviously the depth of questions that can be asked are limited in an against the clock game but it is thorough on its coverage of the topics.

On the basic setting you simply choose the level of questions you want from 1 to 10. The levels correspond to NC levels 1-8.

On the advanced setting you are able to choose which of the topics and levels of those topics you wish to be tested on (or your teacher or parent wish you to be tested on!).

GAMEPLAY
When playing you can choose the starting speed from 1 (over 7 mins for the invaders to reach the bottom) to level 10 (just over 2 mins to reach the bottom). There are then four modes:

BASIC - nothing special - maximum of 8 waves (of 15), same speed each time and moving left or right 'snaps' you into one of the 3 columns. Space craft and scrolling backgrounds change with each wave (but do eventually repeat)

NOVICE - now each wave is slightly faster (so by speed 20 it takes only about 20 seconds for the wave to reach the bottom - I haven't been able to get beyond level 24!), in addition a random invader will start to move down faster than the rest and needs to be shot down straight away (the computer seems to be kind on the ones it chooses - so it shouldn't cause too much heartache for the delicate ones)

EXPERT - as above but now you get the bonus invader flying across the top for extra points

EXTREME - no longer do you snap to the column - you must align yourself carefully, and must hit a moving target on the bottom of each invader. You can also move up or down but I've really seen no point to this.

There are high score tables for each of these modes both for the individual user and all users.

Finally there is the "Ultimate challenge" which is the novice mode but tests ALL the topics up to your desired level. Useful as a general numeracy brush-up.

As with EdAlive's other titles you can quickly see how your child/student is performing - either as a quick overview (bars showing the percentage correct first time in each topic area) or as a detailed last 10 questions wrong or right. Results can be easily printed off.

For the school version you can quickly transfer class lists onto this product using a tab or comma separated text file (from, say, Excel) and then apply properties to the whole classes. This really makes it very easy to set-up and use.

So in summary an excellent fun numeracy game which thoroughly covers time tables and general numeracy and allows EdAlive's trade-mark fine-tuning to exactly suit your child/student's needs. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
I recently purchased Numbers Up, Maths Invaders, Words Rock and the BRAINtastic bundle and I love them. They are such great value for money and my neice just loves them. They are so much fun that the kids don't realise that they are also educational. I can now help her without having to break the budget. Well done, thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
I received the CD today.Should say children are not very kine "play" but after having tried many website and CDs it is the best tool the make children learn and revise times tables.You can select the table to revise so children gradually revise and choose the frequency.
So for example if you want children to just revise their 1 to 6,while learning the table of 7 just select 1 to 6 as low frequency and 7 as high.So they will forget what they previously learnt.
I also confirm that installation run straight forward on windows 7.I had a look on the second part of the CD and think it is an essential tool for preparing children to secondary school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I chose this program for my five year old son, who has enjoyed other maths-based games. He liked the fact that Maths Invaders involves spaceships and the way in which you can choose a picture to represent your character. On the other hand, while he has grown to like Maths Invaders, I don't think it will ever be his favourite. The problem lies in the nature of the game. The person playing the game needs to answer the maths questions quickly.

If your child likes to think about a question in a careful and unhurried manner then this game will not cater for them. While Numbers Up Baggin the Dragon Version 2 and Numbers Up! Volcanic Panic Version 2 have some timed rounds, there is much greater variety in way the questions are asked. I prefer the variety demonstrated in these games which help keep things interesting for longer. As a bonus, neither of these games will make either you or your child over excited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My 10 year old son uses this item on a fairly frequent basis and I must admit, that through its' repetitive nature, he has improved markedly in his badic numeracy skills and his ability to calculate mentally has improved as has his standard of playing the game.

It is a basic space invaders type game whereby you have to insert the answer before you can shoot the alien spaceship. To be honest, it is not that good a game when compared to the items on offer now, but its simplicity is probably the key: what it does achieve is to act as a good compromise between play and study! So when I am greeted with a sulky face and "can I go on the computer now"? we can achieve a good compromise with my son getting to play a bit on the computer and I can rest assured that he is improving his ability with basic arithmetic.

p.s. I quite like playing it too, espectially as it is the only gasme I can beat him at other than wii table tennis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Okay, maybe this isn't the most imaginative of games, but it has the virtue of not overly diluting the maths element. There are plenty of sums here - they just keep on raining down from on high, with the shoot-'em-up format supplying just enough of an adrenaline fix to hold their interest. The software's main advantage is it's highly customisable - you can adjust many perimeters from type of maths problem to degree of speed and difficulty, so it can be as easy or as challenging as you like and progress reports show up your strengths and weaknesses.

Great fun for a bit of competitive parent-child interaction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)