Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 23 November 2000
Apart from all the information about Amtrak and VIA Rail the book summarises recommended places to stay, what to see and how to find your way on local transport in all the big cities along the way. This saves you having to lug around lots of city guides as well. Brilliant maps, too.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
If you are new to American trains - they are a different experience to anything found in the UK - you really need this book to show you the ropes. It's practical as well as highly inspirational and makes a great companion as you travel around.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
As I am travelling across the US on two long distance trains (Lake Shore 49 and Empire Builder) this summer and because I loved my trip on the Coast Starlight last year.......this is essential reading to maximise the experience of travelling by Amtrak or CanRail..........exceptionally good preparation for those trips!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2017
I bought this book for a friend. I have a copy that was my inspiration for many wonderful trips across America by train.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
A good planning guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2000
I travelled all over North America by train last summer and found "USA by Rail" terrifically useful, especially for its clear and detailed route guides. These add so much to a journey by telling you in advance what to look out for and explaining the background to the things you are seeing. The chapter for visitors from overseas was very helpful and there's fascinating information about railroad history as well as lots of practical tips for finding accommodation, booking tickets and making reservations. The previous reviewer must have been looking at an earlier version of the book because I found the third edition (published last year) to be fully up to date so far as Amtrak routes are concerned. This latest edition also has a competition inside to win free rail passes. I recommend USA by Rail to anyone visiting North America and thinking of travelling by train as it will add hugely to your enjoyment and understanding. An inspiring read in every way.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2000
"I've used this book as a guide on several lengthy Amtrak journeys, including a tremendous cross-country route from Florida to Los Angeles, and also on VIA Rail trains in Canada. The tips for accommodation and sightseeing were particularly useful as it meant I didn't have to lug around too many other books as well. USA by Rail gives all kinds of information for the journey and to help when planning routes and bookings in advance. The amount of detail is truly impressive. There are even articles about the building of the railroads and about steam trains you can ride now. The maps are very good, too. More photographs would have been nice but this is a minor point. The book is essential for travelling by train anywhere in North America, especially if this is a new experience for you."
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2002
I think this book is brilliant. If you've never been on an American train it makes you want to go there. It has all the advice you need and some nice pictures - all very detailed and informative. Your trip wouldn't be nearly as good without this book.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2009
Awesome travel guide filled with dos and don'ts for traveling anywhere in this country by rail. The photographs are beautiful. The Table of Contents is well organized by train names and the areas in which they travel. Route maps are helpful and easy to read. Estimated prices for tickets and passes helped us decide where and when we wanted to travel. We will make Bradt Travel Guides a MUST for wherever we travel by whatever means. Also great site-seeing info.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2007
This guide gives a complete description of passenger train services in the United States and Canada. The book covers all Amtrak and VIA Rail train routes, commuter routes, special trains such as the American Orient Express, steam powered trains and lots more, including a fascinating history of North American railways. Each modern-day train route is illustrated by a map followed by a list of the cities along the way with mileage and times between them. Each town or city is briefly described, together with points of interest in between that you can see from the train. The book is published jointly in the UK and in the United States, so it has a chapter designed for vistors from abroad with helpful advice about US currency, food, hotels, etc. Altogether, an indispensable guide.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)