Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 November 2017
Love Star trek - have to have the book.
Really interesting book that is well laid out and well done - for fans.
it is fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
Great book for a Star Trek fan. Lots of information and some great illustrations. Bought as a gift for my partner who loved it and it looks good on display.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
Bought as a gift for my nerdy boyfriend and it went down a treat. Arrived in good time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2017
Love star trek, this is a great book very detailed and well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2017
Bought as a present for a trekkie friend and they were amused and interested in the book when they received it.
Displayed in the format as a car owner's manual, it looks into the inner workings of the ship and is full of information that would appeal to fans of Star Trek
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2017
Love it <3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2017
Great present for my husband
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 December 2010
I used to be a big Star Trek fan and was the proud owner of the highly detailed technical manual of the Enterprise 'D' from The Next Generation, but recently I've rediscovered some of the wonder I used to feel for the franchise and I've come to appreciate this book.

It isn't as highly detailed as the book I used to have, and it doesn't have incredible schematic diagrams, but it still contains lots of great pictures and information about the various spacecraft which have carried the name Enterprise. Whichever Enterprise is your favourite, you'll find full colour front, rear, and side views in here. There are facts on each of the ships along with images from some of the films.

As well as overviews of the ships, there are articles on various other Star Trek elements such as Warp Speed, Impulse Engines, and Defence Shields. The information is presented alongside illustrations so you can see where the hardware being discussed is located on the ships. It also provides write-ups on the role of the Bridge, Consoles, the Nacelles, etc - all things which are instantly familiar to even the most casual viewer of any Star Trek series or film.

I didn't realise until I saw the other reviews that this information is effectively a collective of articles from other sources, but if you haven't seen them before then this is an impressive overview of the ships and technology iconic to Star Trek. It might not have the level of detail as other available books, but it certainly isn't light on information. This may not satisfy the appetite of a die-hard fan who wants full blueprints and cut-away sections showing all areas of each deck - but for those with a general interest who wants a single source of information with illustrations and overviews on key areas, then this is the perfect book.

In a nutshell: If you don't already have any literature on the Star Trek universe then this is a great starter point, if you already have a hefty library then this is a nice addition to the collection but perhaps offers little over what you already have. There's no doubting however that this is a well presented book which displays everything in an interesting way and utilises the stylistic schemes typical to Star Trek.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
An excellent read for any star trek fan in your life, with a comprehensive look at the Enterprise class of star ships, with a interesting selection of pictures, and diagrams explaining the science behind star trek.

One note however, the history of each ship is mentioned in each chapter, meaning that there are spoilers for those who haven't seen all of the star trek series. Otherwise there is not much to say, its a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2011
I am 13 asked for this for my christmas and I was not disappointed, this book is great for anyone and everyone who likes Star Trek except hardcore Trekkies may want something more like an actual workshop manual but I'm sure would still enjoy this book. I am not familiar with other Hayne's manuals but this book is obviously different to other Hayne's books and includes operational reports on each starship from which I learnt of the existence of the Enterprise-B and C there is of course more information on the original Enterprise and the Enterprise-D (huge amount of information on the D) than other ships. There is also some information about phasers, torpedoes, parallel universes, time travel and even the full sequence of what happens when you activate transporters and how long it takes, my only critisysm of the book is that there is not really enough pictures like the one on the cover (there is one of each ship) but I don't really mind.

Overall a great, informative book that anyone who has only even seen one episode of Star Trek would enjoy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse