Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2014
It has a mixture of items. Some are fairly scholastic and some are a little childish, though amusing. I was able easily enough to pick out those that added something to my already fairly comprehensive knowledge of the English language on the one hand, and those, on the other hand, that I could read with a smile and not seek to retain.
The book would make a good present for anyone who is interested in the vagaries of our quirky language.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Very entertaining and educational.well researched and for any wordsmith a surprise on every page.its no wonder English is full of surprises.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Love this book. So interesting if you like wordplay and are interested in the English language and all its idiosyncrasies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
quite interesting,but felt at times it was a bit over elaborate and sometimes just went on too long. Nonetheless I thought it well worth the money and an entertaining read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I am looking forward to dipping into this extraordinary book. Have not had time yet though I have opened it at a few pages and now can't wait to give it more time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
There are many good and useful word-plays in the book. But most are too far=fetched and contrived to be useful other than perhaps to crossword afficionados.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
A very good laugh well worth the read can recomend to anyone who is not politically correct or maybe those people should read it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
If you like words and wordplay with phrases, this is a lovely little book.Well worth the money; it fits easily in your pocket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Ordered on behalf of neighbour. without a computer who was very pleased with it and I
nearly kept it myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)