Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
88
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2009
This is a film where nothing happens, except right at the end, when nothing happens. Dialogue is minimal. Acting is underplayed, and several of the stars are "non-actors" (whatever that means). The tone is nihilistic - although I should point out that no-one dies, and nothing particularly bad happens. Yet despite all that, it's watchable and engaging.

This re-defined for me what film making can be. It's not like anything else I've seen (including films made after it), although directors like Jarmusch obviously share some of Hellman's values.

It was on my "must see before I die" list for years, and I was prepared for it to fail to meet the hype. In fact, I think it far exceeds it: a classic, a milestone, a must for everyone with a serious interest (whatever that is) in film.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Good old Criterion!. Another masterpiece produced in the form of TWO-LANE BLACKTOP. I now have an all regions Blu-ray player that I can view these releases on. As usual, picture quality is outstanding and the footage of Monte and James meeting after 35 years is captivating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Wonderful film, loved for years since first viewing, maybe at a drive-in since it wasva comnercial failure on release, then a cult classic and now a classic. Watch it on a double bill with Vanishing Point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I bought this film because I'd read great things about it, and knew of it's cult status. I'm glad to say it lived up to it's reputation. It really does feel like a time capsule. The protagonists seems isolated, reeling from the sixties counter culture era. A very interesting depiction of early seventies America.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
What can I say.....loved it first time round!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Great film for old petrol heads!!. Had not seen it for years, they never put this type of film on the telly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
This movie came out when I was at art school. Easy Rider had set the scene for road movies of this era and Bullet's car chase sequence had given us an unforgetable taste of American Muscle Cars. Vanishing Point was THE (?) big road movie of 1971 and Amercian Graphitti was still in the making. One of my lecturers had actually done the car ferrying across the States that is the initial motive for Barry Newmans character in Vanishing Point and had spotted the screenplay for Two Lane Blacktop in Esquire magazine. I read it and was hooked by it's imagery. When the film was released the two leads seemed perfectly cast and the locations and characters were exactly as I'd imagined they would be. The world of back road America away from all that was modern and the roar of the freeways was perfect for this "new Easy Rider" as Esquire had dubbed it. It wasn't Easy Rider "the sequel" but it had the concept of drifting and following your next whim. Warren Oates character provided "the bread head" and a contrast with their aimless wandering as well as most of the films understated humour. This is not an action film. As other reviewers have suggested it is a thoughtful, thought provoking film, set in the world of back roads America that I'm sure will stick in your memory as it has for mine ....for 39 years now!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Often cited along with Easy Rider as an example of 60s counter culture film making, Two Lane Blacktop is really a very different kind of movie. Easy Rider is about the pop culture of the late 1960s and the idea of the romantic outsider on a quest. Two Lane Blacktop is far odder and far more timeless.
To me what this film does is capture the mesmerizing almost hallucinogenic rootless quality of travelling. It's like being in the passenger seat on a long journey with nothing to do but observe the shifts in the landscape. It should be deathly dull, but it isn't. It's hypnotic.
The race between the Driver (James Taylor), the Mechanic (Dennis Wilson) and GTO (Warren Oates) is simply a meaningless gesture, a theoretical destination on an infinite map. The girl ( Laurie Bird) is a self invented muse, almost like ghost on the highway. She's not really interested in the male characters and they are not really interested in her beyond the belief they all seem to share that at some level cars and girls seem right.
Two Lane Blacktop is a truly fascinating film and the ending is perfect. Who care who won the race, it was just a race.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Eexcellent value copy of classic road movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
nothing wrong with the dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)