Buy Used
£1.13
+ £1.80 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Twistrose Key Hardcover – 17 Oct 2013

4.6 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews
Book 1 of 2 in the Twistrose Key Series

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£3.00 £0.50
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Age Range: 6 - 11 years
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (17 Oct. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0349001669
  • ISBN-13: 978-0349001661
  • Product Dimensions: 14.8 x 3.2 x 21.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,022,448 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

a brilliant mix of legend, childhood games... conspiracy, emotion and dangerous adventure, with wonderful illustrations throughout (Juno)

The Twistrose Key is a charming adventure story in the tradition of C S Lewis and Brian Jacques. This is a good, old-fashioned quest of a story and would make a lovely winter read to snuggle up with on a cold, dark night. (We Love This Book)

. . . beautifully written. The dialogue sparkles. The descriptive passages are wonderful. The prose sparkles and dances off the page, creating a truly vivid world. And there's a Scandinavian flavour to it that feels really fresh . . . The Twistrose Key comes highly recommended to all fans of magic aged from 10 and up - and by up, we mean the grown ups too. (The Bookbag)

Skillfully blending facets of classic high fantasy, this debut novel will captivate readers with its rich plot and detailed worldbuilding . . . Fantasy that evokes the classics of yore and stands proudly among them (Kirkus, starred review)

Featured in the Gransnet list of best children's books of 2013 (www.gransnet.com)

. . . my children's book of the year is The Twistrose Key, a dazzling debut by Norwegian writer, Tone Almhjell. She has created the stunning wintery world of Sylver, peopled by human-sized creatures who were all formerly pets. Our heroine, Lin, manages to get into the world using a key marked 'Twistrose', and is reunited with her much missed pet vole, Rufus. The book has a Narnia-esque feel and possesses the plot, pace and dash of a classic. (Lorraine Courtney The Irish Independent)

This exhilarating tale is set in the timeless world of snowy Sylver - a home to every dead animal that ever loved a child. Packed with adventure, there is a surprise on nearly every page. Original and captivating, this story is suitable for both boys and girls who are 11+ and good experienced readers. Adults would enjoy it too I'm sure. This is such a good book that I could not put it down. (Izzy, aged 10 The Sun)

In Tone Almhjell's evocative wintry fantasy The Twistrose Key, Lin grieves for a pet vole who lived in her pocket. One day she enters a snowy world where beloved pets have become human, and sets out to find a lost boy. The plot is complicated but the relationships are touching, with settings of poetic splendour - frozen landscapes, cosy rooms, bustling inns. (The Sunday Times)

Book Description

Set in the timeless world of snowy Sylver, full of adventure and unforgettable characters, THE TWISTROSE KEY is a story readers everywhere will fall in love with.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 9 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
18 October 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
14 December 2013
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
1 November 2013
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
4 March 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
9 March 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
TOP 50 REVIEWER
12 April 2015
Format: Paperback
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?