Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2012
If you're somehow a Pratchett fan who has no previous editions of the Discworld Companion, you'll find this book an invaluable reference, full of information about all the characters, places, etc.

But I suspect most potential purchasers already own older versions. I certainly do. On that basis, I was somewhat disappointed: the new material simply isn't as compendious, entertaining or well edited as the old stuff.

For example, Granny Aching doesn't get an entry, and the entry on Leshp hasn't been updated to reflect the events of Jingo, even though it was published a decade and a half ago. C.M.O.T. Dibbler's part in The Truth isn't mentioned, nor Harry King's in Making Money. The formerly commendable cross-referencing is also becoming increasingly ragged: several entries aren't under the name referenced and some are absent entirely.

Beyond that there are numerous typographic errors, some extremely blatant such as an entry accidentally being dropped in the middle of the the previous entry's headword.

All in all, it feels rushed and slipshod.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
A great companion for the disc world series of books. Helps to flesh out the place and fill in the blanks for those who do not have all the books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
more humour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I gave this to our"nitpicking" son and he was pleased with the book, but disappointed with the proof reading/checking as there were more mistakes than expected.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Firstly, there are some editing blunders, with some articles being interrupted mid-sentence by erroneous insertion of titles of other sections.

Perhaps more irritatingly, there are lots of cross-references - why are these not linked?
It's an e-book! The text says that cross-references are in small caps: this doesn't work in the e-book version, as the e-reader determines the font, so they're just in caps. But why not make them hyperlinks?

Still, a useful reference.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Terry Pratchett is unquestionably one of my favourite writers, even when, as in this case, the book rehashes previous characterisations of past storylines. There nevertheless always seems to be a fairly large reserve of previously unremembered and humorous items. Well worth a read for Pratchett Fanatics.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
this is one to dip in and out of rather than sit down and read. I'm a massive discworld fan and have read everything, most of it several times, and this is the perfect book to live in the bathroom and be reminded of things, people and details that you'd either forgotten, or dearly love. wasn't sure at first but I'm a convert. recommended (although I think you'd have to be a pretty die-hard fan for it to make any sense -- if you haven't read much discworld, read it all and then get this!)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
To be dipped into and savoured and occasionally to be consulted to settle arguements and refresh the memory.
However, "The Right Honourable Miss Alice Band" Head of Mantis House who teaches Traps, Locks and Edificeering and lists her hobby as Stealth Archaeology, is noticably hard to find, and not in the index, despite being worthy of artistic representations in the DiscWorld Lexicography as sketched by Paul Kidby in "The Art of Discworld".
One for the converted
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Well written entries reminded me of characters met in books not read for a while and determined me to re-read them. Detailed entries of guilds and other aspects of disc word geography make it easier to put action of novels in context.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Great book but not easy to flick to individual articles. I'd rather have this as a book to use while reading my books on kindle.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse