Kindle Price: £9.55

Save £7.44 (44%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Turned On: Science, Sex and Robots by [Devlin, Kate]

Turned On: Science, Sex and Robots Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£9.55

Length: 288 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now

Product description

Review

Illuminating, witty and written with a wide open mind. (Sunday Times)

A lively, waggish guide to these uncharted waters, tracing ethics, sexuality, intimacy and the uncanny. (Tatler)

For fans of Humans, Westworld and I, Robot. Or anyone who's ever enjoyed a flirtation with Alexa. Devlin takes us right through the AI revolution and its potential impact on our relationships [with] a relaxed and chatty tone. (Cosmopolitan)

An engaging survey of the history of humanoids. (Financial Times)

One of Devlin's achievements is to humanise the sex robot makers and users - we are invited not to laugh at them, but to understand them. (The Times)

This brilliant book is an intelligent, clear-eyed and often very funny deep dive into the history and future of love and machinery. (Warren Ellis, author of Transmetropolitan)

After millennia of fornicating with foreign objects, the ultimate sex toy has finally arrived. Kate Devlin unpacks the very long, very dense history of the sex robot with style and wit. Spoiler alert: we haven't reached Westworld ... yet. (Christopher Trout, Editor-in-Chief, Engadget)

In Turned On, Kate Devlin - the thinking person's navigator to the complex and potentially life-enhancing terrain of the sex robot - looks at the history of AI-enhanced erotic toys, then ventures far beyond our wildest imaginings. (Rowan Pelling, Editor of The Amorist)

Book Description

An exploration of humans, sexuality, interaction and technology through the lens of the sex robot.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1130 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Sigma; 1 edition (18 Oct. 2018)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07D16PJ13
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #118,416 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


3 customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

5 November 2018
Format: Kindle Edition
VINE VOICE
12 November 2018
Format: Kindle Edition
8 November 2018
Format: Kindle Edition

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.7 out of 5 stars 5 reviews
Nigel Seel
3.0 out of 5 starsA feminist on sex machines
12 November 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
One person found this helpful.
Tristan A. Hayes
4.0 out of 5 starsIntriguing Content, Intriguing Speculation
4 October 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Joseph J. Truncale
5.0 out of 5 starsAn interesting and thought provoking book for anyone interested in how modern technology is will relate to humans in the future.
12 September 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
One person found this helpful.
click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?