Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
7
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2004
Most MDB fans will swear to this album..and with good reason.
It has a dark feel throughout that really still to this day is something completely special. The use of violin here is of course essential to the darkness and agony MDB portrays.
Every MDB fan has this album...really, you can't call yourself a fan and not own this album. It does sound silly, but if you know MDB you know it is not.
Sear me, Your river, Crown of sympathy, Black God and Turn loose the swans are just tracks that to me are doom metal history...even if two of those songs doesn't involve guitars or metal of any kind. It's the wholeness of this album that just makes this album so utterly dark heavy heavenly beautiful and ugly at the same time. Cause MDB can sound wretched and agonizing in so many ways...this is where MDB became My Dying Bride to me. This is a milestone in doom metal or dark metal ..whatever you want to call it. Poetic and darkly agonizing. Their latest album Songs of darkness words of light is btw the perfect follow up to this album...only without the violin. They actually made an album just as dark without the violin. Who would have thought?
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2004
When I bought this album I had no idea what to expect, my natural genre of choice was (and still is) punk and I had been amazed at the length of the songs on the sleeve but strong recomendations had convinced me to buy this. When I turned on the c.d player I was gobsmacked. The opener Sear Me was like nothing I had ever heard before, the distant sorrowful baroque type instrument the only accompaniment to Aaron's brilliant vocals. No catchy chorus, no solos just vocals and baroque. To this day no song has had the same emotional impact on me as this one, from there on the album never slips, each song as brilliant as the next right until the last second.
Its very rare to find a band capable of creating an album whose brilliant goes beyond it's genre. Anyone, whether they listen to Mozart or Bad Brains should love this album so long as they can appreciate great music.
Highlights:
Sear Me
Your River
Crown of Sympathy
Black God
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2006
What is it about Yorkshire that inspires such gloom?
Despite stiff competition from Paradise Lost's immense "Gothic," and Anathema's "The Silent Enigma", this record is certainly the pinnacle of 90's Doomdeath; this scene is probably now more familiar as the Gothic Metal genre.
This record will appeal to a fan of MDB's other albums or the early work of the "softer" Gothic artists mentioned before and aped by more commercial female-fronted acts. Fans of Doom or dirgey Black Metal may also find the dismal and downbeat pace, mixed with deathly guitar tone inviting. Those who enjoy orchestral BM such as Dimmu Borgir and Cradle of Filth fans will be attracted to the orchestral feeling and use of various voices, not to mention darkly romantic themes.
What to expect:
1) A mixture of cracked-voice singing, muttering and deathly growls,
2) Slow, heavy riffs with a great sense of (melo)drama, inbuing the whole affair with a very profound sadness,
3) Violin! Martin augments the guitar riffs either with ethereal sighs or by adding a shrill note of panic to the proceedings. Essentially, you get four very typical MDB tunes "You River" "The Snow in my Hand" the brilliant "The crown of Sympathy" and the majestic and frightening title track. These are sandwiched between slightly more experimental fare "Sear Me 1993" and "Black God" which may or may not appeal on a first listen, but are essential to the feel of the LP.
Production-values-wise, this isn't perfect, and it is certainly a record of its time, but even considering this, "TLTS" is an essential classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
Despite the fact this album was released around 14 years ago, this is probably the greatest album ever written by the world's greatest doom metal band. As another reviewer said, if you know My Dying Bride, then you will know that this album stands as a classic among all their albums, and if you are a fan, you simply have to own it. TLTS is the first of MDB's albums in which Aaron begins to use a combination of growled, death metal vocals and clean, doom metal vocals to great effect as he changes his style to fit the mood and atmosphere perfectly. This is also the first album which had a full time violinist, adding a whole new layer of beauty, melancholy and romance to many of their songs. Of course, the slow, heavy and doom ridden guitars are still one of the key elements to the music, and the whole album has an amazing atmosphere, varying between depair, anger, sadness and romantic beauty.

Some of MDB's most famous and classic songs are on this album, particularly "The Crown of Sympathy" - a 12 or so minute long epic, with passages of heavy doom guitar and a long stripped down section of keyboards with Aaron's spoken vocals. The title track is also a monument to MDB's incredible, innovative and beautiful style of music, with amazing vocals and violin playing. Of course, there are also 2 songs which have no guitar or drums: "Black God" which is a beautiful combination of violin and keyboard with both Aaron's spoken vocals and haunting female vocals. The other is "Sear Me 1993" which is a remake of "Sear Me" from their first album. The song keeps the same basic melody, but played on violin and keyboard, with different but very effective lyrics and vocals. The atmosphere of darkness and melancholy evoked is unsurpassed on any other album I have heard, every instrument is perfect and there are no songs which aren't amazing in their own way. This album is an undisputed doom metal classic, and most MDB fans consider it to be the best album the band ever wrote, although I would argue for "The Angel and the Dark River" as a close contender. It is 100% essential listening for any MDB fan and even the most casual doom fan, as it is a great starting point for the genre.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Great record, new presentation, a true masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2009
Revered doom metallers, but they fail to float my boat...for doom metal look to The Gathering, Octavia Speratti or Opeth
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here