Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Turf
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
Turf
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 April 2012
Well I didn't know what to expect from Ross, and the plot seemed convoluted when I heard a bit about it before this hardback release. knowing that Ross was well versed in comics, as well as obscure vampire movies didn't necessarily fill me with confidence, but none the less I thought I would give this one a go. And well hell if it aint pretty good!

Ross knows his artists and Edwards was the perfect choice, getting stuck into the period setting with gusto; he drops one too many backgrounds for my liking, and some of his color selection can be garish at times, but all in all, seriously good. The captions come thick and fast initially, and the background information can be dense, yet Ross pulls it off. The characters are easy to differentiate, with many harboring different motivations from one another, despite having mutual enemy's. The vampires are quite politically complex, which can be confusing at times, but being confused a little is preferable to being bored. And these's plenty going on here to keep the boredom at bay, with alien plots intermingling with prohibition era gangster shenanigans, and bloodthirsty vampires to boot. Mr Ross has done well his first time out, who would have thought a t.v. personality would be such a great writer, and in a serious not comedic sense.

Keep them coming Mr Ross!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2011
A nice concept with some cracking art from Edwards but the problem is that there are too many ideas floating about which ultimately harm the overall story. The first chapter is dialogue heavy which sets the scene for the coming events and is easily the most interesting part of the story. Alas as the story moves on it becomes slightly run of the mill and cliched. Set in early 20th century New York, the story picks up with a new gang on the block. This gang hail from Eastern Europe and plan to take the city and ultimately the country for themselves. Whilst the gangsters bootleg booze, the new guys want blood. Add into the mix sibling rivalry and a mysterious vampire god, the eastern Europeans plan to make big, big changes. This is only part of the problem as more unexpected visitors arrive in New York only this time they are from another world. But maybe they may just be part of the solution and not the problem and might just be able to help turn the tide.

So all in all the story features many, many interesting ingredients which unfortunately becomes part of the problem with just too many things going on which dilutes the initial impact. The final page possibly gives a hint of things to come should there be a sequel but Ross has already shot down this idea as just a little bit of mischief. It's a bright and positive start for Ross's comic writing career but just a tad cluttered.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
Brilliant!!! Loved the story and the fab ending too! The artwork is great too. Reminiscent of Alex Toth crossed with Al Wiliamson. Buy a copy today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2014
When I first came across this book I thought that whoever came up with combining prohibition-era states, Transylvanian vampires and aliens from outer space must have overdid it. But the drawings seemed interesting enough so I decided to pick it up and confirm my suspicions. And I was proven so wrong. We follow a story of a mob boss who in time of desperate need turns out to be the true heroe in a world where moral rules seem to be a thing of the past. He finds out that his only ally and friend is a visitor from another world who crashed on Earth while running away with some stolen goods. Great action, very cool lines (although I must admit this drawing styl might not please anyone). Definite recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2011
I'd heard about this graphic novel, when Jonathan Ross was a guest on the Chris Moyles Breakfast show. How he discribed the plot was in typical J.R. humour and knowing that he has a real love for the comic genre and Sci-Fi, I thought i'd buy it.

I was not disappointed. This really is a great Graphic Novel. Imagine throwing these movies into a blender, The Untouchables, Interview with a Vampire, District 9, then pouring the mix between the covers of a hardback. That kind of sums up what you get with Turf.

If I had to complain, at a push, I wanted it to be longer as it was such an addictive read that I got to the end quickly, but that's no bad thing! Also, the artwork style was a little too rough at times. Looking at Gregori at the start and how he is drawn at the end, it looks like two different characters. But, this doesn't really distract from the story and overall, the look and style is excellent.

I would recommend this book for any Sci-fi, Jonathan Ross fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2011
Having followed this in Clint I will be buying the collected edition. I'm a sucker like that.
It's difficult to review this as it has great art and plenty of really good ideas, it also mines some familiar comic book tropes as well but overall it is a success and really feels filmic when read as a whole.
For a first effort it makes me want to see more of Jonathan Ross writing and obviously it would be cool to see where his imagination might go with a post modern superhero.
Also worth pointing out that I enjoyed it because of the ideas and storytelling even though I'm bored of vampires.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2015
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2011
not bad rossy, story abit of everything but good and the art work is dandy, yes i will buy his next adventure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2011
The initial idea, and artwork start so well, the story builds, but you start to notice that the artwork is less than inspiring, in fact by the end its a problem, this is also what happens with the story which had started so tight becomes a joke, this is a vanity project and i wouldn't be conned into buying and more
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)