Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2001
A wonderfully easy book to use to further explore the manipulation of fabric. It is easy to follow and entertaining to read. The diagrams are clear and the instructions include lots of practical advice and handy tips. The varied ideas can inspire a small wallhanging, large quilt or there are patterns for baskets, bags and even hats! It also includes variations on Log Cabin blocks and Cathedral Windows as well as interlocking textured shapes. I found plenty of inspiration for a sampler quilt so I could try out all the designs. What textures can be achieved with plain calico!! The section on fabric dying takes the fear out of trying this technique for the first time and provides great ideas to achieve different effects. She shows how this can then be applied to creating textured landscapes. The baskets were great fun to make and my toddler loves to fill hers with trinkets and carry it around. The ideas are endless and keep the creativity flowing...
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
This book got me trying out tucks and textures,couldn't put the sewing down! A really quick and most effective way to use fabric,especially CALICO in plain raw state to produce all sorts of cushions,runners,cloths bedcovers and none looking like the sometimes overcoloured ordinary patchwork.Great if you like to experiment with fabric and take chances!
The author also has a good sense of humour which somes over in the text and makes you smile,such as first drink a glass of wine!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I watch Jenny on Create and Craft and have been to some of her workshops - as you read the book you can hear her talking and laughing. It's a brilliant read even if you don't follow up on all the projects.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
This woman has a lot to answer for. Her books are amusing with clear instructions
and she has got me absolutely hooked on 'twiddling and fiddling'. I have always said that
I really couldn't be bothered with patchwork or quilting because it was fiddly but am totally
smitten with the ease of making things that look difficult, beautiful and clever. Have all
her books and ploughing my way thru this one as well
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
Not good for a complete newby but for those with a little experience. A nice change from usual quilt making, certainly gets the grey cells working!! Entertaining too, love it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
This was one of the first books I bought on quilting. Jenny rayment has a style all of her own .Her books are clearly written, well illustrated and have the occasional humourous anecdote. Very useful book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I love Jennie's books ,she is hilarious. This book follows the same format as book 1,lots of ingenious idea's with the odd mathematical formula's to boot (fibonacci's theory anyone?) I especially like the ring bound book easier to work from. Well worth the money and a very good addition to one's sewing library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
This book is full of interesting fabric folding ideas, some of which I have already tried and I am keen to start on some of the others. Just wish, like Jenny, that days were longer in order to fit all her wonderful projects in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
A brilliant book, well explained, and with lots of laughs along the way,. as a returning sewer, I find the book interesting, as I also enjoyed volume 1
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Exceptional Book - Jennie shows how to manipulate fabric into amazing and beautiful designs for quilts etc , very happy with this purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)