Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 9 November 2012
Main chapter headings are; 150 years Underground. page 4; History, page 10; Tube Journeys, page 66 (to give an idea of balance). Most of the many photographs are of stations or station furniture (signs, lighting etc.), as is a lot of the text so the book would be of interest particularly to those interested in station architecture. Lots of photographs, the majority in colour. Small book, just under 6ins square with 120 pages; packed. Excellent value at present price of £5.24 but also if it was at RRP of £6.99.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2012
I bought this book as a Christmas present and it was very well received! My only slight quibble would be over the size, some of the maps are very detailed and would be great in a larger format. However, it is handily portable and could easily be taken on journeys as a resource so there are pros and cons. The writing is clear and enough detail to give more than just an overview. As an avid reader and studier of the Underground and stations it won't necessarily give you too much detail but in terms of covering the history and progression in a clear and informative way it is perfect. Packed with photographs and easy to read and learn facts it's a great book and good to have something so current in this Anniversary year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2014
An interesting guide to the London Underground. It begins by giving an easily read history of the system from the beginning until the publishing year of 2012. Then a series of suggested journeys along the lines, highlighting the more interesting features to be seen and giving an outline of them. There are black&white and colour photo's, but as the book is so small they are not a major feature. Well worth getting as a guide to people with a basic interest in the system. Cheap and cheerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2017
This is a most readable book. Its format and size makes it easy to pick up and read for short periods. Very informative with good illustrations.

This is a fascinating 'ride' on the underground and some excellent illustrations on the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2017
Great but physically a smaller sized book than i was expecting, would be better if it was A4 sized.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2013
I loved reading this book. I don't live in London. I live in the North of England. I'm fascinated by the Tube. There is lots . Of good information and the journeys are well described.
I can't wait until my next visit to London so I can try a few out.
Well worth a read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
ToBe explored. Looks good, looking forward to doing so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2017
An extremely well written and informative book which will be of particular interest to all you use the tube on a regular basis. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2015
Interesting insight to the underground, I was born within walking distance from the Piccadilly and Metropolitan line and never realied what work had gone into building the lines, so many interesting facts and not to in-depth, a good easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
A nicely balanced little book but physically it is irritatingly small.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)