Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
87
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2014
For any new artist trying to be successful in the ever more cut-throat music business, a 5 year gap between debut album and follow-up is unthinkable. World class acts which have been established for 20 or 30 years or more; yes. New acts in their early twenties; no. Definitely not.

However, La Roux's Elly Jackson is not cut from the same cloth as many of today's here-today-gone-tomorrow artists. The 5 years that have elapsed since La Roux's debut have been extremely eventful, and stressful, for Ms Jackson. She parted company with her collaborator on the debut album, Ben Langmaid, and is now effectively on her own.

La Roux's 2009 debut album was considered by most to be very strong, and was almost universally critically acclaimed. It had great songs, but a rather unfortunate tinny production, and Jackson's voice was, well, rather shrill and piercing at times. But it had a lot going for it and the potential was certainly there.

Forward 5 years to 2014 and finally, at long last, we have the follow up, Trouble In Paradise. It was well worth the wait. The songs are better, the production is better, and Jackson's voice has matured and she sounds great.

Jackson clearly wears her influences on her sleeve, and this album has a very 1980s feel to it, and in a really good way. You can hear elements of The Eurythmics, David Bowie, Madonna, Erasure (when they were good), Pet Shop Boys, Human League, and even Depeche Mode and Kraftwerk. She has thrown all these influences into the pot, written 9 absolutely cracking tunes, and has turned out what must be in the running for album of the year. Every one of the 9 songs is superb. There isn't a filler in sight.

If there's any justice this whole album should be the sound of Summer 2014. Although Jackson has had a tumultuous few years, the songs on this album sound anything but. They sound effortless and fun, which only comes from a confidence that Jackson clearly has in her abilities as a top drawer songwriter and performer. She said in a recent interview that too many songs by today's new artists sound like there is an underlying element of 'panic' about them. And when you contrast those with the tracks on this album you know exactly what she's talking about.

This really is a brilliant album. But please, don't make us wait 5 years for the next one!
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
'Bullet Proof' and 'In for the Kill' propelled La Roux onto the international pop scene. Elly Jackson returns stronger and better with a more mature image plus a better sound in 'Trouble in Paradise'. This new album surpasses it's predecessor album 'La Roux'. Elly the 'red-haired one' deserves every single music award going out there...the five year wait between albums was worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
A long awaited album. I was eager to see if La Roux could make a follow up to their great previous work. I was not disappointed. Trouble In Paradise has the same electronic feel and texture in sound, as the previous album, but is more influenced by disco and calypso rhythms. The result is a perfect and creative collection of songs. I also love the artwork, especially the front cover. It reminds me of something like Heaven 17, Japan, Duran Duran, etc. Great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
La Roux back on stunning form with catchy tunes and lyrics, sadly no more output since 2014 but still waiting.
If you liked the first album you are bound to enjoy this, even friends who state they can't stand electro have been caught out singing along to this in my car or asking what the song was.
There are no bad tracks on here but Uptight Downtown, Kiss and Not Tell, Cruel Sexuality, Tropical Chancer and Sexothque are very good.
Let Me Down Gently is an absolute storming track that builds as well showing a bit more depth than some club aimed output.

Hopefully be a new album sometime soon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Excellent second album from Elly Jackson. She kept us waiting but boy this album was worth the wait. Some tracks are cute, fun and very tongue in cheek like "Kiss and not tell" and "Sexotheque". Whilst "Let me down gently" and "The Feeling" transport you into another world. Expect catchy funk guitar riffs and La Roux's unique synths sounds. Following her recent live appearance at Maida Vale on October 9th I hope others give the album a chance. Give it a try trust me you'll love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
This is not usually my scene at all, for example, my top of albums of the year for me so far this year are by Death Cab For Cutie and Mew, although "Uptight Downtown" caught my attention last year, I did not follow it up by buying by the album. However after seeing La Roux on the BBC`s coverage of Glastonbury, I was on to Amazon to buy this (along with "Matador" by Gaz Coombes who also impressed).

Brilliant stuff is basically all that needs to be said. Anyone with a gut feeling thinking about making it an addition to their collection......go for it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
This album, after a long wait, lives up to all my hopes for it. The lightweight eighties style music sounds great to someone who was in their twenties in 1983 - from the point of view of its uplifting qualities - simple on the suface but quite clever and complex if you listen more carefully - but definitely nostalgic for eighties people. But what really makes the album, is the contrast between this music and the lyrics / subjectmatter - poignant and deeply felt, very moving. A great second album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Superb follow up to the perfect debut, feels slightly more laid back, excellent vocals.
Best song Sexotheque. Not listened enough yet to say if I think this ranks over the debut but it is certainly a very strong follow up on early plays.
If you enjoyed the first album this is pretty much an essential purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Very good album, not quite as good as her previous one, but that was always going to be a difficult one to follow. She doesn't sing in the same 'breathy' way as in first album but I still like it a lot.

All the songs are good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After the all conquering eponymous debut, La Roux’s core of vocalist and band ‘face’ Elly Jackson and producer Ben Langmaid waited five years to release this follow-up; Langmaid departing two years before the album arrived due to the usual ‘creative differences’. Described on its release as a ‘New Wave’ style record, Trouble in Paradise wears its early-mid 80s influences proudly on its sleeve – as did its predecessor La Roux, however Jackson has been cited as describing the second album as much warmer than the first – this is borne out by the lush dub beats of Tropical Chancer, and the wry if corny Sexotheque, both tracks featuring stronger production values and benefitting from Jackson’s more mature and less spiky vocals compared to album one. Sadly, these two songs are far and away the best that the record has to offer – opening track Uptight Downtown has a promising early Bananarama vibe, but Kiss and not Tell seems to be channeling the kind of mid to late 1980s frothy pop perpetrated by the likes of Stock, Aitken, and Waterman, while the remainder of the album contains little that is either ambitious or memorable.
Despite the negatives however, this a solid if predictable second album that will hopefully pave the way for La Roux to develop over future records – despite the loss of her other half.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)