Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
472
3.9 out of 5 stars
Size: Large|Change
Price:£8.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2015
Not sure if they deserve 3 or 4 stars. In the end i rated them 3 stars because they didn't last more than a couple of walks.
I've taken pictures of the box size recommendations, what the slipper looks like on my dog and the wear and tear.
Overall the idea is good, it did stay on his foot despite him running around like a mad thing and it should help your dog to get around the place without increasing the chances of their injury getting reinfected. Anyway my experience follows:

1. My labrador dog cut his hind left foot on glass or similar.
2. We took him to vets and it cost 240 quid for 4 stitches and a solid bandage which he got changed by the Vet every two days. She encouraged us to keep his foot dry by using a small plastic bag over his foot. But this didn't work the more mobile he got.
3. I looked at all foot coverings for dogs and this seemed reasonable for his needs and wasnt expensive. However I was clueless what size to buy as the descriptions weren't clear.
4. Bought large for my labrador but as the instructions say on the box, but not the advert, buy a size up if your dog is bandaged.
5. Therefore waited until his main bandage was off and used the slipper once the other was no longer required.
6. It fitted ok, reasonably easy to fit on my softy and although he wouldn't have been comfortable wearing them in the house he was happy enough to walk outside with one on.
7. The slipper stayed on despite him running short sprints trying to rid himself of the extra energy he had from being confined for a week but very quickly the sole wore through. See picture after 2 shortish walks mainly on grass.
Have used both slippers then over two days and his foot seems to be coming on fine. No slipper today and he wasn't limping.
Not a long term solution but gives an extra day or two over cover if required to let the injury heal.
3 stars.
review image review image review image review image review image
22 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
After Reading various reviews for this product regarding the size, i decided to go for XL for my labrador retriever. They are a little big but as you can tighten them using the straps they fit him well. He is a very good dog and has made no attempt to take them off and walks/runs easily in them. i agree with some reviews that it is misleading as there is no size guide on the website however there is one on the box.
S - West Highland Terrier, Jack Russell
M - Border Collie, Beagle
L - Golden Retriever, Labrador
XL - German Shepherd, Bernese Mountain Dog
XXL - Rottweiler, Hovawart
XXXL - Newfoundland, Saint Bernard
33 comments| 152 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Unlike some, these boots actually stay on as there are two velcro straps to hold them in place. I have a German Shepherd and the XL size fit him nicely and he doesn't seem to mind wearing them. Pleased with product.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
I purchased these for my greyhound who had a poorly front paw following an infection from a thorn embedded in one of his pads. He was limping badly until I walked him wearing the boots. Instant relief for him.
I was unsure which size I needed but decided on the large and they were perfect. I have since purchased a second pair as spares and walk him in them all the time now for protection. They are brilliant. I do need to make sure they are strapped on fairly tight though as my dog is a "scratcher" after toileting.
Well made and quite strong.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Excellent - were needed for our injured cocker spaniel and the medium fitted perfectly though a bigger size is recommended for that breed.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
great my dog can walk pain free again, no pain from the gritted roads anymore, would love to see one designed for greyhounds
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
great product did not realise they come in packs of 2 as most dogs have 4 legs you have to order 2 lots
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
The product's ok but I don't think the size guide is very accurate. I bought the boots when my dog injured a paw and picked according to the given guide but the boots just kept slipping off her feet. I can't fault the transaction with the vendor - that was excellent, I just don't think the manufacturor's guide is very good.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
My twelve-year old labrador, of ebullient character, had been severely handicapped by sterile granuloma for four years, despite the best veterinary treatment, and had latterly been almost crippled by arthritis, again, despite very expensive medication, which he still takes. At first, I was dubious about this pair of boots. Others by the same manufacturer had suede soles, a knitted cuff (which snagged on dewclaws) and one velcro strap. They inverted easily and the toes were soon scuffed through. This model, made of neoprene, with plastic soles, looks more flimsy, but does the job much better, because the two straps are more secure, and the dog has learnt to walk without scuffing the toes. They have transformed his life, and he bounds along again with his old assertive swagger. Excellent value.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
These boots really did the trick , my barking mad Border Collie no longer limps when he over does it chasing his ball .

Saved me a fortune in unnecessary X-rays .
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 81 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)