Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2010
One of the best things about the last couple of years has been Horslips' long-hoped-for re-emergence. For me, seeing them at the O2 in Dublin in December 2009, thirty-two years after I'd last seen them (at the Arcadia Ballroom in Cork in 1977) was one of the standout, joyous, sheer 'lump-in-the-throat' moments of my life. I would'nt have missed it for anything.

Treasury was the compilation album that accompanied those 2009 gigs in Belfast and Dublin, and it was also the album that returned them to the Irish charts for the first time since Roll Back in 2006. In a word, it's excellent! Thirty five slabs of vintage Horslips taken from all phases of their career. Superbly remastered, intriguingly sequenced and imaginatively compiled, it's top class in every respect. The big hits are - almost - all here; Dearg Doom, Trouble, Power and the Glory, Furniture, Flower Amang them All. So too are the in-concert favourites - Mad Pat, Blindman, Lonliness, Sword of Light. And then there are those delightful surprises, the tracks you'd almost forgotten - Ghosts, The Blind Can't Lead the Blind, Long Weekend, Sideways to the Sun, I'll Be Waiting. Great stuff every one.

If I have a complaint, and it's a small and undeserving one, it's that so much was left out. King of the Fairies, Charollais, Can't Fool the Beast, Wrath of the Rain, Johnny's Wedding, Shakin' All Over (from the Belfast Gigs), The Shamrock Shore, Daybreak, Sunburst. The list goes on. However there has'nt been a compilation album yet where some opinionated individual did'nt quibble about the track listing. And the plain truth is - you cannot include everything. Otherwise you are talking about a triple album, even a box-set, which will cost much, much, more. All things considered I think the compilers (which we understand were the band themselves) got it pretty well spot on.

Nice one gentlemen!

If, like me, you were there from the beginning. Driving miles across rural Ireland in the dead of night to see Horslips play in Crossmolina, Newcastle West or Tramore, hearing them bring our rich musical heritage to life in new and exciting ways, and proving that you could love traditional music AND rock all at once, then this album really hits the spot. You will discover again they really were - and are - THAT good!

Treasury? Absolutely!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2010
The legendary Irish band Horslips were always of- their- time and ahead-of-their time. I know this because most of it was written in the 1970s and 1980s and I was there ... and yet it still sounds fresh now. Actually it sounds better now than it ever did and I would hardly believe that possible. Classic celtic music reworked for today with a rock beat and some craic-ing guitar riffs courtesy of one of the finest guitar players of all times - Mr Johnny Fean. Charles O'Connor's wonderful fiddle (along with the many other instruments), Eamonn Carr on drums, Jim Lockhart on keyboards and tin whistle and the legendary Barry Devlin make this album of (very) greatest hits a head puzzler. Which is the favourite track? Sideway to the Sun ...? No, Rescue Me ...? Who could not choose Dearg Doom but then there's the wonderfully complex Long Weekend. No, Sideways to the Sun ... Oh dear I don't know -maybe I need to listen again?

I'm jealous of people who haven't heard this - they have the best yet to come.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
I had only heard The Book of Invasions, which is terrific, before buying this to find out if Horslips were always that good! They are pretty good, but it sounds as if Book of Invasions is their high point, though there are also some very good tracks that were new to me on this two CD best of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Having bought 'Aliens' many years ago on cassette I had forgotten just how good and varied were the output of this group. A mix of foot-tapping Celtic rhythms, ballads, pop and even some prog-like instrumental breaks - but with a generally great folk rock vibe throughout.
More than enough variety in this compilation to keep you interested and listening right to the end (although I found that listening to disc 2 first was preferable).
Well recommended to anyone who likes their folk a bit more rocky or their rock a bit more folksy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Delivered on time. Well packed. The Horslips CD is enjoyable to listen too and nice to have in your tradition / rock collection. Brings back memories of the Irish 70's music scene.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
This is a superb compilation from a truly fabulous band. Lose yourself in the magic of the music from start to finish!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
This was really good as it allows the fantic to listen over and over at the great musical history of this fantastic band ... the boys are back
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Couple of great tracks. The rest are too similar and unremarkable. I expected more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
A reminder of just how good Horslips were.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
great job thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)