The Transports has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Transports

4.8 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Price: £8.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
The Transports Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 12 Jan 2018
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Frequently bought together

  • The Transports
  • +
  • Follow Them True
Total price: £18.98
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (12 Jan. 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hudson Records
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 13,111 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Introduction
  2. Us Poor Fellows
  3. Narration 2
  4. The Robber’s Song
  5. Narration 3
  6. The Leaves In The Woodland
  7. Narration 4
  8. The Ballad of Norwich Gaol
  9. Narration 5
  10. I Once Lived In Service
  11. Narration 6
  12. Sweet Loving Friendship
  13. Narration 7
  14. The Black and Bitter Night
  15. Narration 8
  16. Dark Water
  17. Narration 9
  18. The Humane Turnkey 1
  19. Narration 10
  20. The Plymouth Mail
  21. Narration 11
  22. The Humane Turnkey 2
  23. Narration 12
  24. The Green Fields of England
  25. Narration 13
  26. The Still and Silent Ocean
  27. Narration 14
  28. Roll Down

Product description

Product Description

Britain's leading folk musicians present a timely retelling of Peter Bellamy's legendary folk ballad, The Transports.

Inspired by the true story of two petty criminals transported unjustly from Norfolk to Australia in 1787, Peter Bellamy created a ballad opera called "The Transports". He released this in 1977 as an album, featuring arrangements by Dolly Collins and a glittering roster of folk musicians and singers including Dave Swarbrick, Nic Jones, June Tabor, AL Lloyd, Cyril Tawney, Vic Legg, Mike & Norma Waterson and Martin Carthy. This album became legendary in English folk music. In 2004 it was re-released, along with new versions of the songs by artists such as David Jones, Coope Boyes & Simpson, Kimber's Men and Fairport Convention. The Transports enabled Bellamy to explore, further, the voice of poor folk through traditional music, and secured him his greatest fame. In 1991 Bellamy took his own life. An obituary in The Guardian said he was "one of the few who could create new songs convincingly of the tradition".

In 2016 Producer Michael Hughes, of The Young'uns, and Musical Director Paul Sartin brought in storyteller Matthew Crampton to re-work the piece. Captivated by the original story, Crampton wrote a narration to tell the tale more fully, give historical context and set up each song and character. Sartin went on to create new arrangements for the songs, drawing on the musical strengths of the company, with special emphasis on broadening the ballads with more harmony singing. He also developed a theme, based on Sean Cooney's song Dark Water, and musical sections to support the narration. The musical engine room is the trio Faustus (Sartin, Benji Kirkpatrick and Saul Rose) with Nancy Kerr on fiddle, Rachael McShane on cello and Greg Russell on guitar. The Young'uns (Hughes, Sean Cooney and David Eagle) provide vocals, as do all the musicians. In 2017 the production came to live on stage, and has preserved here as a unique studio recording so these stories may never be forgotten.

"Stunning….truly a transport of delight" - Alfred Hickling, The Guardian

"an ensemble success….ten voices uniting in magnificently lusty, rousingchorus" - Rob Adams, The Herald

"Truly stunning ensemble singing and individual instrumental virtuosity" - Chris Kenny, Songlines

6 customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

15 June 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
26 March 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
22 April 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
1 February 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
15 January 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
22 January 2018
Format: Audio CD
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?