Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 May 2016
Fantastic book of Fair Isle Patterns, if you are interested in a pattern book of traditional Fair Isle designs this is the book for you! However this book is mostly a pattern book than a how-to instruction guide. Like her book on Nordic designs the author assumes the knitting is somewhat familiar with the technique, that said if a beginner starts out with the simpler designs that have no more than five to seven stitches between the rows they should be fine.

Also the designs in either book can be used as either traditional Fair Isle where the background colors change in the middle of the design sequence or in the traditional Nordic version where one background color is used throughout a design pattern.

While they are technically two different styles of knitting, both Scotland and the Nordic countries have strong historical connections and many basic designs are found in both places.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2016
I'm disappointed with this book. I wanted a book that would instruct me on steeks yet all the advice is just that - advice. The author's very brief few paragraphs on steeks only vaguely mentions some techniques she's heard of. There's lots of pages of patterns (not knitting patterns, Fair-Isle patterns) which I'll make use of (there's a much better book for that that's in colour but having said that there are designs in here I've not seen so... ) but if you're looking for any useful info about how to construct a Fair-Isle jumper then this isn't the book you need.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2013
If you want something covering the history and origins of Fair Isle and Shetland knitting then this book is for you. It has several chart of different traditional styles but does NOT have any actual patterns for making actual garments . Not a book for a beginner .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
Found the book very interesting and full of very good information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2015
Has some wonderful patterns for Fair Isle knitting, and good instructios to help create your own garments A good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2016
A must for anyone interested in fair isle knitting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2016
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2013
I chose this because the book uploads and everything around it is safe and fast and good handling. I would sincerely recommend this to my friends.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2010
I am new to Fair Isle knitting and bought this book as a reference and compendium of motifs. Personally I don't like to follow exactly any given pattern because it makes me feel imposed upon. Here there is enough information to knit in the traditional way, that is with traditional garment patterns, yarn, color coordination and motifs, but you are free to pick and chose every single element. Part of the fun is to make the calculations so that the motifs you chose will fit the number of stitches you need to cast on. Every knit item should be unique and this book makes it possible.
For the price this is an excellent investment, as usual with most Dover Publishing books. There are enough color photos to give the reader a good idea of the color coordination in traditional Fair Isle knitting.
After reading this book you can visit an online seller of Shetland wool for a color symphony and make your choice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2011
I have owned this book for many years and it is among the few that go everywhere I move to. I have knitted since I was 3 years old and still love the designs in this book. I can find the correct yarns easily with Jamieson of Lerwick Only for knitters who are looking for dedigns not patterns.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)