Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2013
The movie opens with a fast paced electronic sound track. We see Alan Alda, Ben Stiller, and a street smart Eddie Murphy in the first few minutes. Early on we know the film is fast paced and clever. Just seeing Murphy revive his street smarts type person is worth the price of admission. Ben Stiller is Josh Kovacs. He runs a very high priced apartment tower with a large staff. He is dynamic and pays attention to details. Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) is a financier and is one of the millionaire tenets who sits on the board of directors for the apartment building and runs their pension fund. Matthew Broderick plays Mr. Fitzhugh, who is currently broke and squatting in his over priced apartment..."If you want me, I'll be living in this box."

When Shaw gets arrested for fraud, Stiller has to break the news to his workers that their pension fund has been robbed. Shaw is placed on house arrest in said apartment building. Téa Leoni plays the tough FBI agent in charge of the Shaw case..."The last time I drank this much at a bar, I made out with a fireman."

After a vigilante moment, Stiller and two of his cohorts get fired. Thinking they won't be able to recover their money they devise a scheme to break into Shaw's apartment and rob him, but this group of misfits need a second story man...enter Eddie Murphy in his classic form. Now the real comedy starts. The safe is too complex for Murphy so they add Gabourey Sidibe to the gang. Of course things don't go as planned.

Clever, witty, fast paced. Good cast of characters with good chemistry. Everything a fun movie should be.

1 f-bomb, n-word, sex talk.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have always found Ben Stiller’s movies to be one of two things: 1) Brilliant e.g. Mystery Men, Zoolander, Walter Mitty, and 2) Abysmal e.g. Zoolander 2, Dodgeball. Surprisingly, Tower Heist falls (just) into the former category – it’s not exactly ‘brilliant’, but it is very entertaining, well scripted, and much subtler than I had envisaged. The ensemble cast, comprising Stiller, Alan Alda, Matthew Broderick, Eddie Murphy, Casey Affleck, Tea Leoni, and Michael Pena, all put in solid shifts, and the plot is coherent and taut (for the most part). Murphy provides the film’s most amusing moments – with his usual fast-talking, OTT shtick; but he is ably supported by Stiller and Broderick – the latter looking a little paunchy but still capable of a faux wide-eyed wide-boy performance. Definitely worth a go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
I learnt a long time ago to not be put off by critic reviews as they are always based upon opinion.

This film was on my list, but not at the top so I waited until it appear on a deal (three blu-rays for £17).

Overall it's totally unbelievable, but enjoyable and the characters all bring presence to the story, although I thought Murphy and Broderick looked out of sorts throughout.

You can guess the ending half-way through, but worth a view if you can get it cheap like I did.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Tower Heist has a fun and original story and a very likeable cast. The cast includes Alan Alda as a rich business man who is arrested for dodgy financial deals. This eventually leads Ben Stiller to form a group that includes Eddie Murphy and Mathew Broderick to attempt to get into Alda's penthouse to try and get millions from a hidden safe. The film is mostly played quite straight but with some very funny lines and scenes, it is a comedy. Eddie Murphy has a great character that reminded me of how good he was in 48hrs and Trading Places, and it's great to see Alan Alda in a big Hollywood film, rather than just having a part in a Woody Allen film for instance. I think the film was fun viewing and could definitely be rewatched. Sadly it's not quite perfect and perhaps could have done with some slightly tighter editing, to keep the pace up.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Director Brett Ratner, who brought us such classics as Rush Hour 3 and X Men: Last Stand, turns his hand to the heist movie with Tower Heist, which I've recently heard described as a poor man's Oceans Eleven. This is rather an unfair assessment, and I'm happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised by what is an unassuming and highly improbable, but also very entertaining comedy crime caper.

The film follows Josh (Ben Stiller) and a small group of employees at a high-rise luxury apartment building who are fired from their jobs after losing their pensions in a scam run by their boss, businessman Arthur Shaw (a wonderfully sleazy Alan Alda), who is under house-arrest by the FBI for fraud. They hatch a plot to recoup the lost cash with a smash and grab raid on Shaw's penthouse suite, guarded by FBI agents, where they believe he may have concealed up to $20 million in cash. To this end, Josh recruits the help of petty criminal Slide (Eddie Murphy), his neighbour and once friend from daycare.

In fact, thankfully Tower Heist is nothing at all like Ocean's Eleven. These men are average Joes; out of a job, down on their luck, and attempting to reclaim what is rightfully theirs, and in this they have the full sympathy of the viewing audience. They are totally out of their depth when it comes to planning a robbery and the very opposite of smart and slick. Much of the comedy is of the `fish out of water' variety, centering on the clear ineptitude of the gang as would-be criminals, as they attempt to transform themselves from professional servitude to professional thievery. This premise yields a number of very funny moments, which I will not spoil by describing here.

The clever casting is spot on, particularly Matthew Broderick as a once high-flying businessman now unemployed and dejected, and the slightly vacant Dev'reaux (Michael Pena). The performance of Eddie Murphy too is cause for optimism, here at his best since his films of the 80s, back to playing a wise-cracking character of the Reggie Hammond (48Hrs)/Billy-Ray Valentine (Trading Places) mould, something he clearly does very well.

Actually, Tower Heist works far better as a comedy than as a heist movie, with the crime distinctly playing second fiddle to the laughs. If I had one major criticism, it would be that the actual heist begins a little too late, some elements of the logistics of which are glossed over or even omitted completely as proceedings become more and more far-fetched. That said, there are some original and exciting moments, one in particular involving dangling a classic Ferrari out of a top storey apartment window while a Thanksgiving Parade is underway on the streets below.

Despite its plot holes, Tower Heist makes for marvellous escapist entertainment, full of energy, wit and with a premise that makes us root for the good guys from the start. 7/10.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tower Heist is Ben Stiller's latest comedy where he plays the building manager of a New York high rise tower block. He regrettably invests him and his staff's pension money with a smooth-talking crook who lives in the top floor penthouse. Naturally, the crook wastes their money and they're left without a cent.

Therefore, Ben and a few other disgruntled employees, enlist the help of small time crook Eddie Murphy to break into the penthouse and steal back their money.

It's a decent enough premise and, again, all the cast to a decent enough job. There you have it - it's a decent film. Not quite funny enough to be a comedy through and through. Not quite dramatic enough to be a straight drama. It even throws in a bit of a high speed car chase into the mix to add an element of `action' into the genre.

It's a bit of a mixed bag. If you go into it without any expectations, you should find it an okay watch.

Not great, but not bad either. Fans of Stiller and Murphy should find extra things to enjoy about it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2016
Good Storyline with a moral, enjoyable light hearted movie with some poetic licence.
I found the comedy Quite funny! Funny dialogue & some funny moments!
Would recommend entertaining,& a laugh!
Liked the Cast & the acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
A solid heist movie with likeable, realistic characters and some witty dialogue. Though there are some minor leaps in logic and Casey Affleck's performance comes off as slightly annoying Tower Heist has some fresh twists and turns and is a fun way to spend a couple of hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
different to the usual movies and different to what i was expecting
has a few gems of comedy here and there and story is eerrrrrr decent i guess
execution was on point
hilarious and i loved the ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
After a slowish start where they set the scene it turns into a fast moving, fun movie. Light hearted tale of justice for the underdog, funny enough to have made me laugh out loud in parts, grin and smile in many others. Well worth watching when you want some feel good distraction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)