Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
53
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2006
Having thoroughly enjoyed A Year in Provence I was pleasantly suprised to find that Toujours Provence is even more entertaining. It is written in the same vain as it's predecessor, describing beautifully the rich scenery, characters and events of rural France, but as the author has more experiences to draw upon for this book, the stories have a bit more variety. Pour yourself a glass of wine and enjoy a very entertaining read !
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I love all Peter Mayle's books. They are light hearted, amusing and easy to read. Ideal to take away on your hols, especially if venturing to France.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Almost a year in Provence but misses the mark slightly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Enjoyable book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 September 2015
I purchased this book in a bookstore on the Cours Mirabeau, near Les Deux Garcons café, in Aix, in 1991. At the time, the bookstore carried only books written in French. This work of Peter Mayle’s had just been issued, in quick pursuit of the immense popularity of his initial work "A Year in Provence". “Toujours Provence” was released only in English in 1991, and somehow the bookstore had mistakenly ordered it, no doubt due to the title (In 1998 Mayle’s account was published in French). After my read in 1991, I concluded that it was not of the same caliber as “A Year in Provence.” Currently I ach to return to the many joys of Provence, and therefore decided to give this light-hearted work a re-read, and have concluded that it is as good as “A Year…”.

Mayle’s substance and style are unchanged from his previous work. There are a series of vignettes that often focus on the uniqueness of Provencal life as experienced by a recent expatriate “arrivée” who has taken up residence in the Luberon region (Mayle, who is English, arrived from London). The observations are a blend of the self-deprecating as well as the condescending. And he peppers his work with untranslated French (which I understand). Generally, though not always, the meaning can be determined from the context for those who know no French.

“A Year…” introduced me to the “Auberge de la Loupe” in Buoux, where I ate a wonderful dinner on a cold dark evening in November, 1989. Subsequently, on many repeat visits, I’ve enjoyed the “17 appetizer” lunch, along with the Tavel Rosé. Maurice is the owner of the restaurant, and Mayle’s wife arranged for “le pique-nique” with the owner for Peter’s 50th birthday. It was in grand-style, since Maurice’s avocation is the restoration of many 19th century horse-drawn carriages, which was the mode of transport to a glorious setting under the trees, with white linen tablecloths and the obligatory champagne. Mayle explained how he had grown to dislike picnics in England due to the often inclement weather. In the end, after the delights of a wonderful “lunch,” it did turn into un pique-nique anglais.

Food, and more food, and yet as he concludes, they have actually lost weight living in Provence. Many of his vignettes center on food and alcohol, and include a trip to a degustation in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, as well as a discourse on the origins and effects of pastis. He also describes his trips to two radically different restaurants – Hiély – in the heart of Avignon, near the Place de Horlage, and a truck stop on the N7 at Orgon. The key selection criteria for both: value for money. Other stories concerned seeing Pavarotti in concert at the Roman Amphitheatre in Orange, singing toads, Vogue magazine highlighting the various “escapes” of the rich and famous, the dog show and the wild fires that can decimate the countryside. Variegated, yes.

In the final chapter he raises the rather unique British admonition on “Going Native,” again a bit tongue-in-cheek. The expression was mainly used during the Raj, the British rule of India, and how the British were supposed to maintain a certain distance “from the native classes,” by adhering to their own rituals and clubs. One of Mayle’s visitors from England noted that Mayle was in T-shirt, shorts, barefoot, and seemed to be oblivious to a rigid time schedule. Had Mayle “gone native” and become a Provençal? And he answers in the affirmative, noting the gradual and at times imperceptible changes in his life, and that overall, they were much for the better, and had improved their mental and physical health. All the better, since he had no “native” guide to help him. Imagine if he had! 5-stars, on the re-read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
I couldn`t put it down, even took it to the Loo to get peace to read it, the usual Peter Mayle hilarity, a wonderful read for anyone that loves France or dreams of sunnier days.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
Still entertaining, though weaker than the first book A year in Provence. If you read the first one, you can tell the main ideas of this one, it just gives more detals
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
Since food and France are some of my favourite things in life, this book was always set to be a poular choice for me. Add in Peter Mayle's genius for describing people and places so clearly that you can almost smell and taste the atmosphere and you have an absolute delight all wrapped up inside the pages of a book. One of my favourite reads, ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
An enjoyable read but one of the weaker books that Peter Mayle has written,But saying that it is still a good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
I enjoyed the book as a light read, my first Kindle purchase. It's the usual Mayle territory with British expat meets 'colourful' French characters with hilarious consequences type anecdotes loosely strung together. The pen illustrations seemed rushed and lacking relevance. His first one in the series was the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)