Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
97
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2001
Because I enjoyed the TV series enormously I've recently purchased all of Mr Wingfield's books. The first one I chose to read was A Touch of Frost. His portrayal of all the characters is very descriptive and the narrative is brilliant in it's humour. I couldn't envisage anything better than the TV series, excellent as it was, but the books are far better. A warning though: don't read these books in public - your rawcus laughing at the wit on almost every page may just disturb others. I wish Mr Wingfield would write more. I'm suffering withdrawal symptoms already. At least 12 stars.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
I bought this book after watching and thoroughly enjoying the TV series. As always the book is even better. As usual there is so much more detail in the books.
The Frost series differs from other detective novels greatly. The books are based on this policeman's working day, so it involves a number of cases & crimes. Other detective novels usually focus on one crime as their plotline. So Frost could be dealing with a missing person, a murder and burglaries all at the same time. However, this is in no way confusing for the reader. It is extremely easy not only to follow the plot but to get sucked in and not want to put the book down until the end.
David Jason plays this character exactly as you would imagine him.
As one of the other reviewers warns - be careful about reading this book in public as you will laugh out loud.
I would strongly recommend this book and I cannot wait to read the rest of the series
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
Having read the Morse novels, I moved on to Frost - and it's interesting to compare the two. The Morse of the books is much like the Morse of TV - but Frost on the page is more chaotic, more bawdy and more jaded than on the small screen. (Supt. Mullett, however, is the same in both and TV's DS George Toolan seems to be DS Arthur Hanlon in the books.)

The trademark storylines are all here: multiple cases, Frost multi-tasking haphazardly between them, running on instinct with peerless street-knowledge and putting together the loose ends that others don't. Frost may be disorganised but nobody beats him for serendipity.

This novel is a real page-turner (they all are :-). If you've seen the series and want to read the books, start right here!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
I didn’t approach R.D. Wingfield’s DI Jack Frost series with any great enthusiasm. I’d seen enough of ITV’s Sunday night schedule-filler, with David Jason in the title role, to assume it would be lightweight, middlebrow, plodding fare, with signposted comic interludes.

I was utterly wrong. I gorged all six books in the series — Frost at Christmas, A Touch of Frost, Night Frost, Hard Frost, Winter Frost and A Killing Frost — within a couple of months.

There’s little point writing an individual review of each, as they all follow the same formula… There are usually three cases on the go in each book: a child/prostitute serial murderer, something rapey, and a robbery. Frost, of course, solves all three, each time accompanied by a different sidekick sergeant he’s been mis-matched with (female / posh / ambitious). On the way, he always succeeds in getting one over on his boss, Superintendent Mullett.

Described like that, it sounds typically banale and padded ITV fare. Yet R.D. Wingfield’s writing is anything but. The books are weighty, typically around 500 pages, but they crack along. Frost is multi-dimensional and scatalogically funny, the dialogue believably terse and crude, the narrative pacy, the plot-twists surprising. In short, they are (cue the reviewer’s standby cliche) page-turners, genuinely excellent detective novels.

There are flaws. In particular, the books’ casual sexism will jar with the modern reader. There are recurring motifs of Frost “jokingly” sexually assaulting Mullett’s secretary; there’s lots of sexual leering masquerading as banter; prostitutes are rhyming slanged as “toms”; child pornography is regarded as a minor offence; under-age girls are portrayed as knowing Lolitas; and a frumpy, middle-aged lady notorious for ‘crying rape’ is a stand-by comedy caricature.

Some readers may find it hard to get past these. For what it’s worth, I find them more fascinatingly revealing of the times (the series was published between 1984 and 2008) than I do irredeemably offensive.

My advice: get stuck in, judge for yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
The most rebellious insubordinate copper of all time one- crime is swiftly followed by another and another story moves along at a cracking pace never a dull moment when Jack frost is around just great his descriptions of nubile young women could hardly be bettered lovely jubbly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
I love Jack, after 34 years in the police I can honestly say that he acts the way a lot of officers would like and the portrayal of Mullet is also spot on for a lot of senior officers who are all about appearance and have no idea of how to be a real police officer or what it involves in order to do the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
If you haven't read any Frost books...DO IT NOW.
Immensely entertaining characters and plots, all
combined with the usual excellent Amazon prices
and efficiency.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Do this and you won't go far wrong. The book captures far more of the depth of both the plot and of the characters.
What comes across here is that Supt Mullett - 2Ts and 2Ls doesn't just dislike Frost. He totally despises him.
You can almost cut the tension in the air with a knife.
The very early introduction to the rapist made my flesh crawl. That's not a complaint. But a reflection of Wingfield's talent in capturing the workings of a sad and sick mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
Review by Jennie Bailey. I really enjoyed this novel, others have commented that there is alot going on, to many cases on the go BUT if like myself you have watched the tv series you will recognise the cases from the series so won't confuse you, also I found there never to be a problem wondering which case they where on at the time as it was well written to not confuse you, I guessed very quickly who all the murderers where and that was not because I remembered the series on tv, but just because I always seem to (unfortunately) there is alot of difference between the book and tv series so you won't be spoiling it for yourself if you've already watched, even recently, Frost is a wonderful character, and you'll warm to him, from the start. It is funny as others have mentioned, and I found none of Frost's comments crude, just laughable. Yes it is rather nicely tied up at the end, it could have been another 50 or so pages long, and I found Webster, Frosts sidekick really annoying as he should of realised how lucky he was to be working with Frost and not horrible, arrogant Allen. You will find you can't put the book down, now I'm of to buy the next, hope it's as good. BRILLIANT
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 1999
The first hardback edition of this title now sells for £600.00+ - if you can find a copy! We decided to reissue the book in a SIGNED LIMITED edition of 350 copies with a blood red binding and silver skeletal hand design. Since the TV series the Frost books, which to date only number five (his new one comes out this November [99]-Winter Frost) have become highly collected in their first hardback editions. This volume will fill that inevitable space in your collection and will not bankrupt you either!! A darn good-looking book as well, even if I say so myself as the publisher.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse