Totdat de wachter heeft g... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Totdat de wachter heeft gezongen - Songs from the Gruuthuse Manuscript (ca. 1400) and instrumental connections


Price: £16.32 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, 25 Jan 2019
£7.79 £8.78
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Product details

  • Audio CD (25 Jan. 2019)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Challenge Classics
  • ASIN: B07HGJ461V
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Wach auff mein hort der lewcht dort her
  2. Min hertz in hohen frouden
  3. Dijn troost allein
  4. Mocht ich dein wegeren
  5. Dijn troost allein
  6. Ich bin pey ir sy wais nit darumb
  7. So wie bi lieve in rusten leit
  8. Des klaffers neyden
  9. So wie bi lieve in rusten leit
  10. Allmachtig got herr Jhesu Christ
  11. Der winter will hin weichen
  12. Scinc her den wijn
  13. Scinc her den wijn
  14. Ein vrouleen edel von nature
  15. Binnen in mir hertzen cas
  16. Frow myn willen nym vergut
  17. Egidius waer bestu bleven
  18. Was ich begynne
  19. O, cranc onseker broosch engien
  20. Wiplich figur/ Bekenne myn klag
  21. Wel up elc sin die vruecht begaert

Product description

Product Description

Vocal and instrumental ensemble Aventure perform music from the 15th Century Dutch language Gruuthuse manuscript. The ensemble, which specialises in late-medieval music, is made of one voice and three recorders and their performances are based on the research they have conducted on a particular musical idiom and the cultural and historic context in which it existed.

The poems and songs of the Gruuthuse Manuscript originated in Bruges around 1400, and the collection is named after the later owner, Lodewijk van Gruuthuse. The songs form the most well-known part of the collection: love songs, bawdy songs and drinking songs. The Gruuthuse Manuscript contains the largest collection of Dutch language songs from the medieval period, and it is the largest collection of songs with music notation. The form of the songs also attests to the fact that these songs were intended for connoisseurs. The poet uses formes fixes, the canonized forms of French songs of the late medieval times: ballades, rondeaus and virelais, and the wide variety of the forms used is remarkable.

Instrumentalists have been around all over Europe during the 15th century, but musical manuscripts unambiguously showing a repertoire for instrumental ensembles from that period are scarce. The instrumental repertoire on this CD contains arrangements and polyphonic ensemble pieces from about 1450-70. The arrangements are either instrumental versions based on pre-existing polyphonic models or arranged monophonic tenors.

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers