Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2001
Everything you could ever wish to know about eclipses. The science behind how eclipses occur, the history of scientific discovery associated with eclipses, cultural aspects, photographic and video tips, what to look for during an eclipse, a list of future eclipses for the next 20 years. This is perhaps the most readable and complete book on eclipses by some of the world's leading authorities. It successfully combines the science, the passion, and the emotion associated with these remarkable celestial events. Don't get left in the dark !!! This excellent book prepares you for the big event.
My experience of the recent 2001 african eclipse was enhanced several fold after reading this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
Wednesday 22nd July 2009 promises to deliver a spectacular total eclipse of the Sun - provided your skies are clear! Passing through India and China this eclipse of the saros 136 series (you'll need to read the book to see what that's all about) will give a maximum totality of 6 minutes and 34-seconds. This book will be invaluable if you are to go eclipse chasing (sorry viewing) next year, and is simply the greatest source of solar eclipse information in one book - if you're not. It is also a very easy and pleasant read, not at all like a textbook, and I sat and read "Totality" in just one day, it really is that good.
You want to take pictures of eclipses - fine, there are sections on both still and video recording of eclipses. You want to know about past eclipses, or their impact on society? It's all in here. Future eclipses are also fully documented.
Here is your single source of information for everything you always wanted to know about solar eclipses - this should be on EVERY astronomer's bookshelf!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This may be viewed as a "specialists" book BUT if you ever wonder about one of natures most awesome (30 seconds to 7 minutes) phenomena then this is THE book covering the background , history , future of Solar eclipses ( partial and total) , how to view , photograph and video them - all from an educated layman cum amateur astronomer perspective. For the dedicated there are plenty of original references
I saw the 2012 Total Eclipse from a ship in the middle of the South Pacific on the 13/14th ( depending on which side of the dateline you were) November
I wish I had seen this book before the experience but have captured photos / videos - none of which come close to the real physical experience .No wonder the ancients fell on their knees in fear . Animal and birds likewise are puzzled .It is said that in Africa that during a total Eclipse ,the hippopotami come out of the river to feed in the dark then stop puzzled as the light returns and run back.

Recommended to those who wnat to know what Eclipse fever is about , driving people to travel thousands of miles for a few short minutes of a spectacle which is oh so rare and often is hidden by clouds with inclement weather - as happened in 1999 ( the last great UK Total Eclipse ) to most of the experts in Cornwall.

Read and enjoy - especially if you can get a copy at a the knock down price as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2002
This is a very good guide to Solar Eclipses, written by authors who have a real passion for Eclipse chasing (Fred Espenak is NASA's leading Eclipse expert).
The book is detailed and informative whilst still remaining an interesting read, and good value as well.
There are other books which take a more scientific approach (such as 'Total Eclipses' by Koutchmy & Guillermier), but I think this is possibly the best single book on the subject, and defenitely the most enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
This is the best book available on the subject.
It includes everything anyone must know when going to observe a total eclipse. The 3rd edition has new stunning photographs from the latest total eclipses and detailed information about the forthcoming ones. I own the second edition too, but i also got this one immediately, as an update.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I first bought books about solar eclipses so I could book my holiday where I could stand in the shadow of the moon something everybody should do. I already have books on solar and lunar eclipses and each focus on different aspects of eclipses this book fortunately explains all you need to know about solar and lunar eclipses from eclipse years to saros (eclipse families) to wavy lines on the ground and distorting shadows you may not see all these strange effects or even look for them during a eclipse and I have experinced 6 solar eclipses from Cornwall to Shanghi to Cairns and Turkey even Benidrom. The book is a very good read it shows how eclipses are calculated and how different cultures deal with eclipses and modern day advice if your thinking of traveling to an eclipse . thank you for reading this review and please do not look directly at the sun Karl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2001
Having seen someone else's copy of this book and having thumbed through it, buying it was a must. Having purchased it, I am delighted with it. It is one of the most interesting and informative books that I have ever read. The information is extemley well presented in an easy to understand format. If you have ever seen an eclipse or have a vague interest in eclipses, this book will enhance your understanding and indeed your experience of an eclipse beyond beleif.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
If you like to get acquainted with solar eclipses, this is the place to get started. This lovely book covers everything on solar eclipes, among topics like eclipse expeditions, scientific discoveries, photographing them and observing and most importantly, where to see them in the coning decades. Loaded with beautiful photographs and maps, this impressive work will be of great use for all eclispe enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Excellent. Well deserved 5 stars. Very interesting read, excellent research. Historical accounts. The emotions and observations of past observers. How To photograph. Technical data. In one word: complete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Probably the definitive work on photographing eclipses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)