Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2008
I've already watched this particular Top Gear Special a number of times on DVD (including at 1080i, using a good upscaling player) and have always been impressed by the quality of the picture. I expected this blu-ray edition to be somewhat better than the DVD, but the difference is nothing less than remarkable: the image quality at 1080P is truly spectacular, with an amazing level of detail, far exceeding any of my expectations.

The programme itself is one of the Top Gear team's best efforts, and you can see why it was chosen to be their first blu-ray release. My only criticism would be that, whilst this is an extended version of the programme that was originally broadcast, there's nothing in the way of "extras" on this disc (as was the case with the DVD release). Given that the show itself is about 70 minutes in length, this doesn't really represent the best use of the format, or very good value, for that matter. All the same, it's still a superbly entertaining film and an excellent representation of what blu-ray is capable of.

Let's hope the BBC doesn't waste any time in releasing more of Clarkson, Hammond and May's adventures in this format!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 December 2008
This Top Gear special really is a joy to watch in High Definition, as you can imagine with all the scenery and cinematography. You'll almost feel as if you were there with them on the journey, but from the warmth of your living room. Result!

It's a shame there are no special features, but it's a TV show. Everything is in the main programme itself. Just an animated menu screen, with chapter selection and subtitle options.

For the price it's worth it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
One of Top Gear best ever. Each of the three is engaged in some kind of crazy, adrenaline, ironic and, as usual, unusually informative and educative situation. Yes, because what is great about top gear is not only the fantastic quality of his look, or the hylarity of his spirit, but the fact thàt it is never a wasted time to spend wjth Tv, but a chance to see unique places, learn new things and be educated to a liberating and free-minded approach to reality and not just cars' world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
I was disappointed to find all the music in this release was different than the broadcast version. One of the things I love about Top Gear is they always pick great music that really fits well with the scenes. They must not have wanted to pay royalties and replaced it with royalty free music. It isn't anywhere near as good as what was in the broadcast version and some is almost annoying.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Okay, first off, i didn't buy this from Amazon, i was given it.

The picture quality on this is nothing short of sensational. Im stunned at just how amazing it looks compared to what the BBC HD channels broadcast in the UK.
I watched this when it first was broadcast and loved it, the added footage and even better PQ made it an even better experience.

However... The audio being only 2.0 Stereo is something i found to be rather poor.
And even worse is that when i buy a DVD, i do not expect it to be censored. the swearing was bleeped. Okay, as this was broadcast at 8pm in the UK, i can understand the censoring because of the broadcasting rules, but a DVD, is not something that has to conform to those rules so thats something im rather miffed at from BBC Worldwide.
Lack of 5.1 & censoring are the bad points. Great points are the fact this is an epic adventure and the picture is breath-taking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2008
The lads are back doin what they do best making entertainment out anything they can, fine asblout hign resloution the capibillites of blu-ray showing the artic in true detail, while watching Jez and Capt.Slow drive drunk in international waters.

Although only 15 minutes longer than the broadcast version, the extra bits are surprising and interesting and well worth it. If you are a fan of Top Gear and thought the broadcast was great, then you will be blown away by the detail on this edition.

5 Stars, One of the best Top Gear releases so far.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
I was expecting a lot from the first adventures of Clarkson & Co in high-definition.
Unfortunately the disc isn't that brilliant.

-There's about 10 minutes of extra footage, but none of it is interesting. So this is really an extended cut as opposed to a director's cut.
-Most of the music has been altered because the BBC didn't want to pay royalties. As another reviewer already stated, some of the new tracks are actually annoying to listen to.
-There are no extras whatsoever. No interviews, no behind-the-scenes footage, no nothing. Zip. Nada.
-The picture quality itself isn't that brilliant. I know the shooting conditions were harsh, but there is a serious lack of fine detail in pretty much every shot.

Treasure your copy of the original BBC HD Broadcast if you still have it.
Otherwise, this disc is a good (but not great) alternative. It's better than the DVD version, but not by much.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
I purchased this disc from Amazon UK, at the recommendation of reviewers on the Amazon.com (USA) site where it is no longer available. It played fine in my US Blu-Ray player.

Regarding the content, I thought that the scenes cut from the broadcast episode but included in this disc were worth the purchase/shipping price alone. In particular, I liked seeing the airplane wreckage and abandoned town that they found along the way. Yes, they did tinker with some of the music, but this disc tells the story with more detail than they could include in the TV episode.

"How difficult could it be?" to click the buy me button????? :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
I bought this because I am a fan of the show, Especially when they do something as crazy as this. With the threat of Polar Bears, thin ice and unpredictable weather conditions, the trio set off on a race from Northern Canada to the North Pole.
The Teams:- "The Hamster" on a huskie-drawn-sled with the help an experienced Arctic explorer. Clarkson and "Captian Slow" in a highly modified Toyota Hilux.
The First team to reach the Pole win's, simple? Anything but.

Extreme Survival of the highest order, both teams have their own challenges to deal with on the way and there are a few laughs also.

If you like the show or you just like watching people being put to the ultimate test, then get this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Although some of the music has changed (for international copyright reasons), this directors cut is so much more revealing of the actual journey that was taken. There's several scenes that were cut from the televised version that fans of TG should see.

The ending is still the same though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse