Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2001
Praying is something I have always struggled with -but this book really helped as it not only focuses on why we should pray, but gives great advice about how to go about it and really PRAY! It makes perfect sense and is well worth reading!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2002
This is a book for any Christian, new or old, about how to pray. Practical and easy to read, it should challenge anyone who reads it to pray more, and also offers suggestions as to how to go about it. Even if you've never even read a book about prayer, go for this one- it's easy to get your head around, and will encourage and equip you. Recommended. If you're looking for something more hardcore, check out Don Carson's 'A Call to Spiritual Reformation'.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 1999
If you want a practical experience of prayer in a life of a Christian this is the book you have to read. But this is not all! You will find help how to mantaine your prayer life and ecouragement in those hard moments.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
Does for your prayer life what "The Joy of Sex" did for for another area of life all those years ago, or what Nike tries to do for the casual athlete with "Just Do It". Hybels has a lot of personal spiritual experience, has researched it well and makes it about the most practical book on prayer you will ever read. If you actually do want to pray more, not just read about other people doing it, then this is the book for you. Some simple things in here have really made a difference to me - write down your prayers (then you can look back and see what happened plus it stills your mind a bit) and use ACTS as a plan - adoration, confession, thanksgiving and supplication (yes, simple things, but he brings it all alive and they do work well). Buy it, then just do it.Too busy not to pray - 20th anniversary edition: Slowing Down to Be with God
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2006
A really good book if you want to learn how to pray. Good practical advice and the book is easy to read, with good study sections for each chapter.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Teaching on the different aspects of prayer, this book is the best I have read. It is much more than teaching, though, sharing so many personal examples, it is a manual on how to, accompanied by the power of encouragement to respond to God's love and call to service. With God's help, I want to live and pray by the Holy Spirit as described by the author. Thank you Bill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Well written. Engaging from beginning to end. Most importantly has served to deepen my relationship with my Lord, saviour and friend. Thank you Bill for your insights and God's work in your life and those around you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
I love it when authors use personal experiences to emphasis points - makes it so much more real! Really good book which I will need to read again. There's so many practical point in there e.g. ACTS prayer - really good! Definitely would recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
I really enjoy this book which I first came across at a prayer group meeting. I felt it had an intriguing title. The busier we get the more, not less, we need to pray. This book also recommends journalling in the spiritual sense. I would recommend this paperback to anyone looking for ways to pray and can vouch for the fact that it is not too heavy or hard-going or dull.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I am only on chapter 10 and already it has effected my prayer life. I feel I meet with God in a more honest and refreshing way. The tips are practical and the stories encouraging and motivating. A must for any Christian who wants to develop there prayer life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)