Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Assai-uk
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Tonight: Franz Ferdinand: Special Edition Special Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 55 customer reviews

Price: £12.34 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Tonight Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Special Edition, 26 Jan 2009
£4.71 £1.08
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Amazon's Franz Ferdinand Store

Frequently bought together

  • Tonight: Franz Ferdinand: Special Edition
  • +
  • Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action
  • +
  • You Could Have It So Much Better
Total price: £20.95
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (26 Jan. 2009)
  • Special Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Special Edition
  • Label: Domino Records
  • ASIN: B001M0JI9Q
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Vinyl |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 55 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 170,276 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ulysses
  2. Turn It On
  3. No You Girls
  4. Send Him Away
  5. Twilight Omens
  6. Bite Hard
  7. What She Came For
  8. Live Alone
  9. Can't Stop Feeling
  10. Lucid Dreams
  11. Dream Again
  12. Katherine Kiss Me

Disc: 2

  1. Feel The Pressure
  2. Die On The Floor
  3. The Vaguest Of Feeling
  4. If I Can't Have You Then Nobody Can
  5. Katherine Hit Me
  6. Backwards On My Face
  7. Feeling Kind Of Anxious
  8. Feel The Envy

Product description

Product Description

Limited UK two CD pressing includes the bonus CD, Blood, which is a dub version of the main album. 2009 release, the third album from Glasgow-based modern rockers. Tonight: Franz Ferdinand sees them taking a step back from the Post-Punk revival sounds that gave them their breakthrough. With Tonight: Franz Ferdinand, the band are seen to incorporate more disparate influences such as Jamaican Dub and elements of Electronica. What remains of the old Franz Ferdinand is their knack for locating a danceable rhythm and their gentle, deadpan humor. The choice of Dan Carey as producer is in keeping with this new direction, the past credits of whose include CSS and Hot Chip.

The disco-punk bandwagon might have long since left town, but Tonight:Franz Ferdinand suggests Glasgow’s arch dukes of art-pop aren’t going to let a little thing like a shifting zeitgeist put them off their principle aim of writing music to make girls dance. Whereas its predecessor, 2005’s You Could Have It So Much Better, felt a little rushed in the execution, Franz’s third album feels stronger for its two years of gestation. Employing a slightly more rigid, synthetic feel than its predecessors, these twelve tracks mix up sing-along pop moments and loping grooves with sundry left turns, meeting expectations, then confounding them with a showy flourish. “Ulysses” is clip-cloppy funk that builds to a huge chorus with a long slide of squelchy synthesiser, while “Lucid Dreams” dispenses with guitars entirely at the four-minute point, morphing into Fischerspooner-style techno. Meanwhile, your host, Alex Kapranos, remains just on the charming side of sleazy, crooning “Kiss me/Kiss me where your eye won’t meet me” (“Turn It On”), or on the Beatles-esque “Twilight Omens”, trying to laugh you into the sack: “I typed your number into my calculator/ Where it spelt a dirty word, when you turned it upside down…” Tonight might be a little too erratic to reignite Franzmania, but it strikes a neat balance between consolidation and reinvention. –-Louis Pattison

55 customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 55 reviews

1 August 2009
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
18 March 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
16 February 2009
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 July 2012
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
20 January 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
5 May 2014
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
15 February 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?