Buy Used
£34.47
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Tomb of Zeus Audio Cassette – Audiobook, 1 Jun 2008

4.0 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio Cassette, Audiobook
"Please retry"
£34.47
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Audio Cassette
  • Publisher: Soundings Audio Books (1 Jun. 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1407904442
  • ISBN-13: 978-1407904443
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 6,214,917 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"Crisp writing and depth of characterization should please traditional mystery fans."--"Publishers Weekly"
"For readers who love Elizabeth Peters and Jacqueline Winspear and still hanker for Agatha Christie.... [Cleverly] demonstrates a knack for creating full-blown historical puzzlers with complicated plots and engaging characters in unusual settings."--"Library Journal," starred review
"Tucked into the wealth of archaeological and historical detail is a full-blown English houseparty murder.... With a spirited, intelligent heroine, a glorious exotic setting, a clever plot, loads of archaeological detail and a touch of romance there's nothing not to like in this crisply told first book of a new series."--"Denver Post"

Crisp writing and depth of characterization should please traditional mystery fans. "Publishers Weekly"
For readers who love Elizabeth Peters and Jacqueline Winspear and still hanker for Agatha Christie.... [Cleverly] demonstrates a knack for creating full-blown historical puzzlers with complicated plots and engaging characters in unusual settings. "Library Journal," starred review
Tucked into the wealth of archaeological and historical detail is a full-blown English houseparty murder.... With a spirited, intelligent heroine, a glorious exotic setting, a clever plot, loads of archaeological detail and a touch of romance there's nothing not to like in this crisply told first book of a new series. "Denver Post"" --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

A dazzling new novel from Barbara Cleverly, introducing Laetitia 'Letty' Talbot, an aspiring archaeologist with a passion for adventure. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
So what chance for humans? And, sure enough...

Cleverly uses the device of the prologue again in this first-of-series and to great effect. As usual, the seeds of the story are sown in the very early chapters and the author trusts that the reader will stay alert and pick up all the clues as it moves along. Links are made through time and myth - e.g. a golden youth who drives his Bugatti over a cliff makes echoes with the son of Theseus who drove his chariot into the sea, both men fleeing, thousands of years apart in time, from accusations of the same sin. Cleverly never cheats the readers (though she doesn't spoon-feed them) and the clues to the primary and the secondary murders are hidden in plain sight, resulting in one satisfying solution.

The unravelling is done by a dashing new heroine who makes Maisie Dobbs look very frowsty. Armed with spade and Luger and a lot of attitude, Laetitia battles male intolerance in the world of archaeology to dig up and expose truths long buried as well as a fresh and personally distressing murder. The wonderfully evocative setting is Crete in the golden years of its archaeological discoveries and this, along with the intriguing characters and challenging ideas linger long after the last page has been read. You get much more than a mystery story for your money.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is the first of Barbara Cleverly's books featuring Laetitia Talbot. It is the late 1920s and Laetitia is an archaeologist. We meet her on her way to Crete where she is going to take part in a dig. Female archaeologists are rare beasts in the 1920s and Laetitia is very protective of her status and takes herself very seriously, so seriously that it is not immediately obvious how old she is.

She is staying en famille with the head of the dig, a man of great charm and charisma, and his extended household. She soon becomes aware that things are not as they should be, and then she finds that another member of the household is someone from her past, who not only has hurt her badly, but is also morally very dubious.

Then the deaths begin and the accidents start to happen. Letty, being Letty, plunges in headfirst causing mayhem and danger on all sides.

This is an excellent book. The plot is complex and convoluted. Hints are constantly being thrown out about past events, which is tantalising. Some you find out about and some you don't. The characters are also complex. We tend to see them through Letty's eyes and she does not always see clearly, so what you see is not always what you get.

I have enjoyed all the books by Cleverly that I have read (and I think I have read all that are in print) and this one is an excellent addition.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a delightful read in the classic style of "who done it?", in an exotic setting and period. My only regret is that it is not available in Kindle form, which would have been more convenient. These novels would seem ideally suited for a television adaption.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback