The Tired Sounds of has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Tired Sounds of

3.6 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews

Price: £19.67 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 13 Dec 2012
£14.70 £24.70
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Amazon's Stars of the Lid Store

Frequently bought together

  • The Tired Sounds of
  • +
  • And their Refinement of the Decline
  • +
  • The Ballasted Orchestra
Total price: £49.73
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (13 Dec. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Kranky
  • ASIN: B00005QJVE
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Vinyl |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 31,255 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Requiem For Dying Mothers: Part 1
  2. Requiem For Dying Mothers: Part 2
  3. Down 3
  4. Austin Texas Mental Hospital: Part 1
  5. Austin Texas Mental Hospital: Part 2
  6. Austin Texas Mental Hospital: Part 3
  7. Broken Harbors: Part 1
  8. Broken Harbors: Part 2
  9. Broken Harbors: Part 3

Disc: 2

  1. Mullholland
  2. The Lonely People (Are Getting Lonlier)
  3. Gasfarming
  4. Piano Aquieu
  5. Fac 21
  6. Ballad Of Distances: Part 1
  7. Ballad Of Distances: Part 2
  8. A Lovesong (For Cubs): Part 1
  9. A Lovesong (For Cubs): Part 2
  10. A Lovesong (For Cubs): Part 3

Product description

Product Description

Having always made records that exist at the margins of descriptive language, this project by Austin, Texas' most spaced-out duo, Stars of the Lid, is their most ambitious to date, featuring 11 tracks parceled over two CDs (or three LPs), four of which are multi-part suites. Taking a step further down the road they embarked upon with Avec Laudanum, the duo have expanded the pure space and black hole vistas they offered on Music for Nitrous Oxide and The Ballasted Orchestra to embrace small melodic fragments that seemingly endlessly repeat through minimally varying textures. The effect can either be soothing ("Requiem for Dying Mothers"), hypnotic ("Broken Harbors"), or unsettling ("Austin Texas Mental Hospital"). The trademark analogue guitar/tape cut ups are ever present; what would normally be considered the sound of a guitar is nowhere in aural earshot. Traces of piano, strings, and even horns are layered into the mix, primarily on the second disc on "Mulholland," "Fac 21" (not a reference to an obscure record on the legendary Factory label, but a classroom on the University of Texas campus where Radio, Television and Film classes were taught), and "Piano Aquieu." The final two suits, "Ballad of Distances" and "A Lovesong (For Cubs)," are based on single and double-note piano intros that are heavily treated and meet minimal accompaniment by strings shimmering in the background in haunting melodies and droning ambient backdrops. There is a progression in all the music here, but it is so subtle, so quiet and un-intrusive, the listener would have to pay very careful attention to everything that is happening. More realistic, however, is for those who take pleasure in SOTL's music and inner space explorations -- for this truly is a music of the inner terrain -- to offer themselves little distraction other than a comfortable chair or resting place in order to let this music enter at will, naturally and expand until it takes you over the edge into something resembling sleep, but far more delicious. Despite its more songlike structures, More Tired Songs is actually for those who are tired of songs, period, and are looking for something less, something unspeakably beautiful and determinedly unmentionable in its vast and luxuriant erasure from any musical category.

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 14 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

26 January 2018
Format: Vinyl|Verified Purchase
25 February 2012
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
21 December 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 October 2016
Format: Audio CD
7 October 2005
Format: Audio CD
9 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
3 March 2005
Format: Audio CD
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
2 June 2003
Format: Audio CD
9 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: stars of the lid

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?