FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Our Tiny, Useless Hearts has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Our Tiny, Useless Hearts Paperback – 2 Feb 2017

3.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£1.41 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
£7.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 11 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Allen & Unwin; Main edition (2 Feb. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1760293814
  • ISBN-13: 978-1760293819
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,134,910 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Laugh-out-loud funny, yet with real emotion at its core, this is a sexy-smart rom-com about love and marriage for fans of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project or David Nicholls' Us. I loved it. -- Hannah Richell, bestselling author of SECRETS OF THE TIDES * Australian Women's Weekly * Toni Jordan, an elegant and informed writer who might also have shone as a stand-up comedian, is just the writer to catch the merriment of farce as it flies and flick it back between the book covers. * Sydney Morning Herald * That Toni Jordan's new novel manages to be a full-length fiction that simultaneously operates as a hugely enjoyable farce and an emotionally rich domestic drama is a testament to her skills as a writer and the charm of her voice. * The Australian * Three couples go under the lens in this clever and moving comedy about love and marriage. A hilarious and romantic treat * Who Weekly * Jordan exploits her gift for dialogue to very funny effect... When Jordan is not being funny, her writing is crisp and clever... It's an unusual novel that is both ludicrous and bittersweet, but Our Tiny, Useless Hearts is exactly that. * Saturday Paper * A highly entertaining romp through the complexities of modern relationships... Our Tiny Useless Hearts is loads of fun and clever too... A relationship drama with a deftly light touch, and will appeal to fans of romance and screwball comedy. * Bookseller and Publisher * This is a funny, cleverly written story about the ups and downs of relationships and the fallout from indiscretion. The haphazard geometry of these suburban love triangles channels slapstick lunacy and farce so effectively, you can almost hear The Benny Hill Show theme playing in the background. * Qantas Magazine * Brimming with sarcastic humour. * Guardian on ADDITION * Really, really funny. -- Alexandra Heminsley * Radio 2 on ADDITION * An unusual and intriguing novel, written with a very light touch. * Daily Mail on ADDITION * Toni Jordan's debut is mature, witty and entertaining. * Irish Times on ADDITION *

Review

'Our Tiny Useless Hearts is loads of fun and clever too ... A relationship drama with a deftly light touch, and will appeal to fans of romance and screwball comedy.' (Bookseller + Publisher)

'That Toni Jordan's new novel manages to be a full-length fiction that simultaneously operates as a hugely enjoyable farce and an emotionally rich domestic drama is a testament to her skills as a writer and the charm of her voice.' (The Australian)

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
This is a light and fun chick-lit read full of witty and self-deprecating humour. This isn’t normally the kind of book I would read, but the publisher sent it along with another title, and I decided to give it a go. It’s quite a short book, but it delves into the complicated and messy nature of relationships. So here’s how it works.

[SLIGHT SPOILER] Caroline and Janice are sisters -> Caroline is married to Henry -> Henry is leaving Caroline for school teacher Martha -> Janice is divorced from Alec and still has feels for him -> Lesley and Craig are the nosy next door neighbours, and Craig has been having an affair with Caroline.

For me personally, I found all this a little far fetched. I felt like there were too many stories attempting to be shoved into one book. The book could have been about Caroline and Henry, and their marriage falling apart, or Lesley and Craig where Lesley is sure he isn’t being faithful, or Janice and Alec and why they got divorced but still love each other. Having the three relationships in one book – plus two children and one pizza man, felt a little jumbled and disjointed.

The book has some pretty funny, if not slightly cliche moments – and the humour is quite witty and enjoyable. The one reason I didn’t rate this book higher was the characters. Though there’s a whole range of them, I didn’t really have an attachment to any of them. I found most of them pretty self-centred and unlikeable and that put me off the story in a big way. Despite this the story is well written, and evenly paced. If you enjoy some light chick-lit with a bit of dark humour involved, this one will be right up your street.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Oh these people, I think they got suburbia cabin fever because they all have their secrets and messy lives.

The book is about Janice who arrives to chaos. Her sister's husband has been cheating with a younger woman. They are now fighting and Caroline does not want to give it all up.

But then the chaos gets worse as a neighbor shows up through a window. It seems Caroline was not as innocent as she seemed. And the neighbour and wife will have their own fight.

As Janice tries to meddle in the crisis we learn that she has her own drama. Which was a bit sadder than the suburban drama with the rest.

The book takes place during a weekend. There are fights, revelations and well, everyone makes their own happiness. Nothing is perfect and hearts do not always come into the equation.

Conclusion:
It was like watching a train wreck unfold. Messy lives makes for messy neighbors. Dry wit.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
In two days many things can happen and Janice knows it very well. First her brother-in-law Henry leaves her sister, Caroline, for their daughter’s teacher. When Caroline follows them on their holiday, she stays at her sister’s to babysit her nieces and her afternoon nap is disturbed by Caroline’s neighbour and lover Craig. Janice tries to send a naked Craig away but first her ex-husband Alec and then Craig’s wife, Lesley, show up. And if the house wasn’t crowded enough, Martha, Henry’s mistress, comes to spend the night at the house after Caroline turned up at the hotel where she was staying with Henry. Between unresolved childhood issues, misunderstandings, fake affairs, pregnancies, and young nieces who know everything that is going on in the grown-ups world, Janice has to face her fears and her feelings and come to terms with her choices.
A laugh-out-loud, sharply funny book that should come with a warning to not read it in public. I couldn’t stop laughing as the story becomes more comic and complicated at the same time. Unique characters and witty dialogues create a brilliant and fascinating comedy that I couldn’t put down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category