Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2010
It is clear from the attention to detail that this book has been compiled by someone who loves camping. Dixe Wills clearly knows his stuff and has managed to impart his vast knowledge of some of the most interesting small campsites in the British Isle within it's pages.

The Tiny Campsites book is divided cleverly into various sections depending on your circumstance; with bike, with partner or with the kids as well as by location. Tiny Campsites also offers a pricing guide and a unique guide to the friendliness of each campsite. This combined with details of both the nearest shops and pubs makes this small book an essential resource for not only the hardened camper but the weekend warrior.

Get a copy of Tiny Campsites, get a tent and get out there!

Tiny Campsites (Cool Camping)
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
This, latest, book by Dixe Wills is wonderful. My family and I love camping but hate big, commercial, crammed-in campsites - this book has enboldened us to go and find sites that are small, quiet, peaceful and friendly. The book is written according to Dixe's own rules regarding humour and form so provides a consistency with his other books and also makes you laugh out loud (well, me anyway; my wife doesn't get the humour.)Thank you, Dixe! BTW, if anyone can add to his database of campsites under an acre, please do.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
This guide is very helpful because it contains loads of useful information. For example, it tells one exactly how many showers etc (if any) the campsites actually contain. It is also very accurate. The author, who was recently on television, is very keen on camping and his enthusiasm for his hobby is inspiring.

I have now visited two of his recommended campsites, and they were exactly as he described them, except that at the almost hidden entrance to one campsite the owners have added a new board.

I hope he finds more campsites for us.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
its such a small sample of tiny campsites, a tiny list of such lovely places. theya re also quite restrictive, not the free roaming in cosy cottage gardens that one migt imagine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Is everything I hoped it would be and arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Perfect for my sons birthday as he loves camping and being remote. Looks like a real good assortment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
This is a really nice guidebook to some of Great Britain's smallest - and loveliest - campsites, engagingly written by Guardian travel writer Dixe Wills. If you love camping but hate the thought of winding up at a campsite that feels more like a car park, then this is the book for you! Contains details of how to get there (with some good sections for public transport users and cyclists) plus where the nearest shops/pubs are, what you can and can't do onsite, what the facilities will be, what you'll pay and all the other details that you'd expect.
11 Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
If you're into quiet, quirky and no frills camping, this is a lovely little book. Have seen a couple of the sites and hope to be visiting one this weekend. Ideal for the 'quick trip away'
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
We've been looking for this kind of guide for such a long time, it's a lovely read of the different campsites. Although we've brought the book at the wrong time of year we're ready to plan out next summers camping trips thanks to this little book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
Book arrived filthy and stinking of cigarette smoke. I am bitterly disappointed and I threw it straight into the bin. Will not be buying from this seller again.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)