Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
29
4.3 out of 5 stars
Timbuktu
Format: Paperback|Change


on 15 October 2017
Book as described and excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I can't believe I have to write review of a set size!! I just wanted to say good read, no more no less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2008
One of America's greatest living writers. Another superb offering from Auster. This is shorter than some of his other books. His depiction of the relationship between man and dog is heart rendering and full of compassion. Auster is just so clever with his fable-type ideas and is certainly up there with Mr Vertigo and Music of Chance. If you are looking for an intelligent read, full of creativity and sensitivity then Auster really is your man. He really does understand the complexity of story telling.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
This is the story of the rather lovely and affable, Mr Bones, a mongrel dog, and his dying friend Willy G Christmas and their many travels together, whether they be spiritual, psychological or physical or all three. Told mostly through the eyes of the dog, this book is a dark, probing journey into, not just the main characters lives, but the heart of latter 20th Century America. The text is drenched in questions of freedom, orthodoxy, belonging and existential angst. It draws many interesting parallels too, with the likes of the Post War Jews fleeing Europe, searching for new and meaningful lives elsewhere. This is actually quite a beautifully crafted novella, written with a sensitive eye and authentic voice that will genuinely touch you as you contemplate the many issues it raises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 February 2012
Paul Auster's 1999 short (185-page) novel Timbuktu is an enchanting fantasy based on the life of Mr Bones, canine companion to one Willy G. Christmas, a Brooklyn-born poet who has fallen down on his luck. Along with Jack London's Call Of The Wild and White Fang, Timbuktu is one of the most enjoyable novels I've read from the category (should one exist) of 'animal-based fiction'.

Auster writes with typically brilliant prose, which is, as ever, easily digestible (to the extent that this book could easily be devoured in a single sitting), but which also conveys magically the more fantastic elements of the story. Central (human) character, Willy, is recovering from having led a life fuelled with drugs and alcohol, and despite having had occasional fantastic experiences (such as the one with an hallucinogenic Santa Claus, which gave him his adopted surname), the novel begins with the bedraggled poet, accompanied by loyal dog Mr Bones, looking set for a premature entry into heaven (or, as Willy calls it, Timbuktu). Following a series of dream-based, philosophical exchanges between the main two protagonists (man and dog), Mr Bones finds himself on his lonesome, and facing the grim reality of making his way in the world alone. Thereafter, Auster creates a series of beautifully created vignettes/adventures for Mr Bones as he befriends various children, finds human adult relations more taxing and finally is left with the dilemma of whether he wishes to pursue life on earth or in Timbuktu.

This is another cleverly written and beautifully poignant tale from the master of this written form and, whilst not on a par with his absolute best works (The Music of Chance, New York Trilogy, The Book of Illusions, etc) comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 January 2009
What do you get when you read a Paul Auster book? Prose to die for, great character studies and a plot line which causes a dilemma, as you want to read on but then you don't want the book to end. With Timbuktu you get all of the above. Even though the narrator is a dog called Mr. Bones, you become attached to him and through him his master Willy G Christmas (read the book to see why). Auster gives us in this short novel all that humanity desires, love, friendship and happiness. Genius.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
I don't like books written with animal voices. They are invariably trite and sentimental. This book has changed my mind. The prose is beautifully crafted and you really begin to care about the dog "speaking". Much of the story is irksome, but then I suspect it is meant to be, I could't put it down and, whilst I would not wish to spoil the ending I had to hide a tear from the other passengers on the bus!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
The first novel I read by Paul Auster was the New York Trilogy. How different Timbuktu is, but there again, every novel by Paul Auster is completely different, except to say that he is a master storyteller and I dont think I have read any book that has disappointed. To anyone who does not like a story written from the point of view of an animal, I would say, 'be open-minded' and be prepared to be surprised. I remember this book with affection and there is a poignancy to it. I would have not any hesitation in recommending it to any Paul Auster fans and to those who are new to this super author, the next one will be different and so will the next one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
I wasn't sure of this when I started reading (I found the character of Willy Christmas and all his wordplay a little annoying) but by and by Mr Bones got under my skin and, if the only thing this book does is make people doubly consider the feelings of dogs, it is worth reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
If you've ever owned or loved a dog you will certainly love this wonderful little book. It manages to cram more depth, emotion and pathos into its few pages than much longer works can only dream of. Like another reviewer I noticed here, I too had to hide a tear (or two) on public transport at the ending.

If you've never owned or loved a dog...it's about time you tried!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Timbuktu.
£5.15
4 3 2 1
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here