Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
167
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2007
Not only is this one of the best 'spin-off' films ever made from a British sitcom, it spans approximately thirty years and offers a marvellous social document of British life then and now ('now', of course, being the time the film was made), in a way that I don't think any other light entertainment programme has ever done.

From the depressed 30s and wartorn 40s to the swinging 60s when the likes of Alf and his values (be fair, some of his values were good) were left behind with the times, as well as commenting on the dreadful compulsory purchase orders which split up lifelong communities and changed the face of Britain. The foresight in writing about this aspect of the 60s and the effect it would have on the future of Britain, while it was happening, is remarkable.

Remember this is written and performed by people who lived in these times, not a sickly 'Goodnight Sweetheart' type period piece. Johnny Speight was able to branch out here and attached the grittiness of his comedy to an earlier period when people were strong together through terrible times and Alf's character really opens up here as he faces (and sometimes avoids!) these issues direct rather than just ranting from an armchair or pub seat. It's also marvellous to see what Alf and Else's relationship was like in their early days, and how parenthood affected them.

The performances are absolutely magic, especially from Warren Mitchell and the superb Dandy Nichols, underplaying Else beautifully as usual.

This film is perhaps even better than the original TV version. The gags come fast and are all very funny. Even the 1966 World Cup gets a look-in, and one of my favourite gags of all time comes in this section. Just wait for Alf's excuse for rolling home drunk in the early hours after the Cup Final... Classic!

This film is very possibly the best British comedy film ever made, and in social terms it offers a document about British life in certain periods that is as important as Gracie Fields' film 'Sing As We Go'.
0Comment| 97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2000
Warren Mitchell once again displays the comedy genius of Alf Garnett. Alf is an East Ender with opinions on every subject and he is not afraid to tell people about them. Alf is accompanied by his 'silly moo' wife played by Dandy Nichols, she has a magnificent repertoire of come back lines that only set about inspiring a typical soapbox speech from Garnett. This is a classic piece of comedy up there with the Only Fools and Horses of this world. It is still refreshing and undoubtedly funny when compared to the sitcoms of today. The character of Alf Garnett will live on in my memory for many years. He has given people years of laughter and will continue to do so with this video. It is side splittingly funny and a must for anyone who loved the series.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2004
Another release of classic Alf Garnett, except this time we are also treated to a second disc of very worthwhile extras including a Late Night Line Up profile of Johnny Speight and the first ever episode from 1966. Good quality archinve stuff which all fans of the show will enjoy.
The series itself has some great episodes and is a must buy for all fans of the show and of classic British comedy.
22 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2008
Alf Garnet has to be one of the strongest British sit-com characters of all time. The fact that he was no more than a strong version of many real life Alf Garnets always gave him a bit more weight over some of the more cartoonish characters in sit-com land. So, not only was Alf responsible for making the TV show TDUDP one of the longest running sit-coms in history, but he sort of was rsponsible for it being so one dimensional and a bit claustraphobic feeling because of Alf's tiny world.

But boy, is Alf a character that lingers in the memory! I put this film on and I was pretty staggered at how fresh his character still was, or timeless looking. It has to be, I thought, because characters like that still do exist, and probably always will. Maybe there aren't as many as blatant as Alf around now, but it brings back memories of men who have an opinion and a prejudice about everything and like to express it, especially when they are drunk. Alf of course is a big softie under his gruff and self important exterior and this film again highlights the fact that we do not condone his worst prejudices but are laughing at his pomposity every time his bubble is pricked, which is often.

To create such a strong character you need great writing and great acting. Both Speight and Mitchell understood this character perfectly, and knew every little flaw he had and every circumstance that would create his looking like a plonker and give us our laughs. This character, like all the best sit-com 'monsters' offers others plenty of opportunities for putting him down and giving us our larfs. This film is full of them, and I think it is a great way to either relive this classic British sit-com or to introduce it to you, if you never got to see it.

As stated above, this is a cleverly written filmic overview of the life of Alf and his poor family, taking in many of the biggest events in British life from the 30s to the late 60s, and runs like a sort of British patriot-cum-bigot's journal of the times. It has its liitle patches of dullness or slight weaknesses, but because of its inventiveness in narrative and of course its effervescent die hard character Alf, this movie is as far as I'm concerned, the best of all British sit-com spin off movies, and the bloke above is right, it's funnier and better than the long running sit-com was. This is a quiet little gem of a film. Good strong directing and some classic Alf moments make this film well worth a look indeed. Actually, I already feel guilty at not giving it the full 5 stars as it is a very strong film, but I sort of published too early before I had a chance to edit. It is 4.5 stars at least.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
This film charts the Garnett family story from 1939 through to the late 1960s and is both great classic comedy and an excellent slice of social history. Alf Garnett was a brilliant comic creation and the film pokes satirical fun at him - the archetypal working-class Tory. Don't be put off by the political-correctness brigade : buy this DVD and enjoy!
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2007
If you liked the series, then you should love this, it is a really brilliant and well made film.
It starts in the war years 1939-45 the atmosphere is fantastic,everything looks just right.Rita is born, and It then moves on to the 1960s, Rita starts courting with Mike, and there are plenty of rows between Alf and Mike about politics etc. It then moves onto the World Cup Final 1966. Mike and Alf go off to wembley to watch match.The original colour footage of the game is fantastic, and blends well into this film.
Their terrace house has to be demolished, and the Garnett's move into a block of flats.
There was another film made of this popular tv series i think it's called: 'The World According To Alf Garnett'(not a patch on this one)
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
I purchased this DVD along with another in the series for my parents as a christmas gift. They have loved watching it so much as they remember the series when it first appeared on TV. I would recommend this for older parents and grandparents who remember dear old Alf and the 'silly moo' hahahaha
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
This is not only vintage comedy at its very best it is much more than that- political and social commentary covering all the big debates of seventies Britain encapsulated in the extremely heated and hilarious arguments of Alf, the proud working-class tory and his 'randy scouse git' son-in-law,Mike,the laid-back,die-hard labour man.It's the most entertaining history lesson you will ever have.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2008
If you collect classic comedy then no collection would even be closed to complete with out Alf Garnets political sage.
I brought this series months ago from my friends at amazonuk.
I remember being a kid in the UK and even back then laughing at alf and his argements with his son inlaw and family bloody classic stuff.

Incidently comming to live in the U.S i came across a sitcom here called all in the family which sprung from our British version Till death us do part and as much as Archie bunker is funny and biggoted in his own right he does not come close to Alf.
Archie is been wartered down and at least his family love and respect him unlike his british counterpart.
Alfs wife bears absolutely no resemblance in manner and looks to archies wife who is very passive and who runs around patheticaly serving archies wants and needs.
Alfs wife would never put up with that as much as alf rants and raves LOL.

Anyway i have both series 1973-4 and the film and i can say with out doubt there is absolutely no political correctness that will eventualy ruin comedy for the next 30 years present.
Alf shoots from the hip hes rude and racist but his logic shows him for what he really is ignorant LOL Did we really think like that people ? yes unfortunately we did.
But hes funny cos hes so over the top he makes afool of him self.

He makes this British ex pat realize what comedy really is and that is art imitates life.
I wont give you a blow by blow episode run down there are others on here that will do that.
But Till death is classic british comedy and i never get tired of watching it ..
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
These DVDs' (and there are loads to watch!) are funny but the humour is dated in places although , at the time, it was hilarious. I guess a lot of it would not be tolerated in today's society but that is the very reason I bought these . I am fed up with the PC correctness of the BBC today . They are terrified of offending anyone which has led to these DVDs and others, eg 'It Ain't Half Hot Mum' being only available through Amazon , because of the content. But, you know, it was genuinely funny comedy that is rarely seen today. The acting by Warren Mitchell , Dandy Nichols, and others is superb and I would reccomend anyone who has not seen this series, to take a jump into the past and see what real sitcom comedy is like. Till Death Us Do Part is classic sitcom comedy that every man , woman and child should watch and absorb . Good value for the vast number of DVDs' you get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)