Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 September 2016
One of my favourite Katie Fforde books, had to buy it again as I'd lent it to someone. I've read it several times and still love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2017
Thank you for my order I am enjoying this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2017
Enjoyed it immensely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2013
A very good read, just what you would expect from Katie Fforde, nice easy holiday reading. I always enjoy her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2008
Not sure if i am doing the author a diservice here, i love reading her books, after a time away from reading her i have just been researching which books to buy, i came accross this title Second Thyme Around, it stirred my memory, i had read Thyme Out quite a few years ago and the synopsis of this leads me to think its a re issued book,if this is so its not a fair way to treat fans of the books! i am now wondering how many more of them there may be - i dont want to waste money on a book that i have already read!
88 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2017
The usual excellent story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2003
Especially with her ex-husband as a major distraction down the road! Fforde takes on another set of cheerful but damaged characters - this one deals with the second time around for a relationship. Perdita and Lucas were married when they were both very young and neither knew what they wanted to do with their lives. Lucas reacted to the uncertainly and fear by leaving Perdy for an older, more experienced woman - his boss. Perdy reacted by (slowly) getting a grip and making her way. Flash forward 10 years - Perdy has rebuilt herself from an emotional wreck into a moderately successful organic specialty grower. She stumbles into one of her local clients one day to find the chef has been replaced - with Lucas! He's totally insufferable, they fight like cats and dogs - and he realizes that he's never stopped loving her. And she really knows that too, but it takes her a while to come to grips with it. Along the way, she has to deal with the grief of the illness and death of the only person who has been a constant for her, her aunt. As she goes stronger, Lucas grows - well, not exactly gentle, but to be more flexible. The way he basically "rescues" her at the end is totally wonderful. As usual with Fforde's books, the supporting cast is brilliant - including her smarmy cousin. Lucas is a bit harder to love than many of Fforde's "romantic leads", but in the end you're won over (at least I was)! Read this - and anything else by Fforde - if you want a well-written, thoughtful, funny, romantic book.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2001
I don't know what the publisher is going to call this book, written earlier by Katie Fforde - no matter what they call it, it's another winner by Fforde! This one deals with the second time around for a relationship. Perdita and Lucas were married when they were both very young and neither knew what they wanted to do with their lives. Lucas reacted to the uncertainly and fear by leaving Perdy for an older, more experienced woman - his boss. Flash forward 10 years - Perdy has rebuilt herself from an emotional wreck into a moderately successful organic specialty grower. She stumbles into one of her local clients one day to find the chef has been replaced - with Lucas! He's totally insufferable, they fight like cats and dogs - and he realizes that he's never stopped loving her. And she really knows that too, but it takes her a while to come to grips with it. Along the way, she has to deal with the grief of the illness and death of the only person who has been a constant for her, her aunt. As she goes stronger, Lucas grows - well, not exactly gentle, but to be more flexible. The way he basically "rescues" her at the end is totally wonderful. As usual with Fforde's books, the supporting cast is brilliant - including her smarmy cousin. Lucas is a bit harder to love than many of Fforde's "romantic leads", but in the end you're won over (at least I was)! Read this - and anything else by Fforde - if you want a well-written, thoughtful, funny, romantic book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This is an enjoyable (if predictable) read.

Partita is a wholesome simple-minded heroine (not the brightest little thing) and enjoys the countryside and easy living.

Lucas is the ruthless tough-talking Latino-ish tall, dark, and handsome type (regularly featured in Mills & Boons) who bullies Partita. They were once married, but she found him too sophisticated and urban for her (not to mention is rather a simpleton).

This does read very much like a Mills & Boon, but thankfully Lucas is the one reaching out and changing his life to accommodate Partita's.

I like reading about marriages that make another "go" of it - and this one doesn't disappoint, If only Partita wasn't such a pushover simpleton than I'd score it 5*. Because the reason why the marriage broke down (and Lucas has a serious cheek) appears too be mostly coz Partita is a bit too simple (in the head)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2003
After Lucas's affair with his boss ruins their young marriage, Perdita and Lucas divorce and move on. After several years apart Perdita - who now owns her own successful business - finds herself face to face with her ex-husband - now a quailified chef. Perdita and Lucas have to deal with past, present and future all at once and although the sparks are still there, they are unsure whether old things are better left kept under the carpet. A twist of fate for Perdita means the only person who she can really rely on is Lucas...who is never too far away!!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here