Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
141
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2017
I really enjoyed this. I was born in '85 and watched Thunderbirds growing up, even though it was still quite old in the early 90s.

I recently bought this Blu-ray set and I really enjoyed it. It was fantastic quality in terms of both the visuals and the audio, on a 40" Smart HD TV. In many ways Thunderbirds was quite advanced beyond its years, showing things as fiction which have either now become a reality or will someday soon.

***Possible tiny spoilers ahead!***

The writing was good, bar the odd episode, but then that's the same with any serialised programme. I found the voice acting to be ok. Considering its age, I think it stands up to the test of time well. I loved the models and miniatures. Very few goofs in the episodes, bar the odd daft thing like drivers side swapping constantly in different shots of the same vehicle.

My only two criticisms would be character development and plot. I don't feel that any of the characters were fleshed out during the series. We know so little about them from the series and they all seem far too nice. A family of men would likely butt heads frequently, it's a little too idyllic. Virgil probably gets the most development and even then it's just shots of him being artistic, painting or playing the piano. Maybe Alan a little too with his love of racing.

My other point would be a specific part of the plots. Every episode is the same: some massive, international, super rich company makes a ridiculously stupid mistake that puts people's lives at risk, somehow don't have any security or quality checks of their own despite being filthy rich and seemingly cannot handle problems with their own super state of the art machinery. It's just a little far fetched that, for example, a huge airport would have no way of dealing with a bomb threat when they've just had multi-million dollar planes made, or that a monorail would be unmanned and develop faults that their own engineers couldn't even manage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
its the propper series not the stupin new one where tintin is gone and jeff is dead and brains is well ruined. its brilliant get it and enjoy. it is never out dated and so well made its still showing after 50 years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Awesome TV show. Good Blu-ray transfer but in 4:3 format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Excellent product and good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
very happy, love seeing this classic show in HD a remaster well done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Many customers have complained about the image cropping for the 16x9 ratio of this Bluray edition. I'm a purist (who already have the original North American and UK DVD box sets in 4x3 ratio) and I usually insist on the original ratio. I gave a try anyway to this cropped version and it's amazing with the many episodes I have watched so far. You'll be blown away with the HD transfer (the DVDs almost look like second generation blurry copies compared to this Bluray). The superior quality of the image makes you forget that part of the image is missing and sometimes help to hide the strings of the characters. And also, for the ones who complained about Kirano being on the cover as the vilain, you should know that he has been replaced by The Hood on the cover of the sets shipped by Amazon (Amazon, you should update the visual on your site). Even though the box says the discs are Region B for Europe, they play perfectly on North American players (I tried them on three different brands). And the extras are a plus since they're not all included on the DVD sets.
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
Having been first screened in 1965, any further review of this magnificent series is hardly required. However, I read a number of highly critical reviews regarding the cropping of the picture to fit the modern wide screen and want to clarify that this only applies to the DVD and BluRay product.
The online digital version comes in original 4:3 aspect ratio, complete with visible strings - an absolute bargain at only £9.99 for all 32 episodes. I stream using either an iPhone or iPad via Apple TV to a large screen TV and the series looks magnificent.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
It's amazing to see the Original (and Best) Thunderbirds series in Full HD BluRay... and it's still hasn't aged at all!! Love it. Best £25 I've spent in a while.
The ONLY thing that lets this set down is a lack of Episode Guide; 6 Disc's and 30-odd episodes... could use a guide. So here it is (in case anyone is looking for one);

DISC 01
TRAPPED IN THE SKY
PIT OF PERIL
PERILS OF PENELOPE
TERROR IN NEW YORK CITY
EDGE OF IMPACT

DISC 02
DAY OF DISASTER
30 MINUTES AFTER NOON
DESPERATE INTRUDER
END OF THE ROAD
THE UNINVITED

DISC 03
SUN PROBE
OPERATION CRASH-DIVE
VAULT OF DEATH
THE MIGHTY ATOM
CITY OF FIRE

DISC 04
THE IMPOSTERS
THE MAN FROM MI5
CRY WOLF
DANGER AT OCEAN DEEP
MOVE AND YOU'RE DEAD

DISC 05
THE DUTCHESS ASSIGNMENT
BRINK OF DISASTER
ATTACK OF THE ALLIGATORS
MARTIAN INVASTION
THE CHAM-CHAM
SECURITY HAZZARD

DISC 06
ATLANTIC INFERNO
PATH OF DESTRUCTION
ALIAS MR. HACKENBACKER
LORD PARKER'S 'OLIDAY
RICOCHET
GIVE OR TAKE A MILLION
review image review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse