Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2012
having read Troy's previous release, Critical Incident, I was excited to see what he would do with a full sized novel.I was NOT disappointed. Drawn in by his easyflowing narrative, delivered by the main human protagonist, I found myself, very quickly within the story, looking thriugh the eyes of Ben and feeling just a little unsettled, just a tad apprehensive but unable to pinpoint exactly why. I didn't have long to wait. When things start to unravel at top secret governmental reserch facilities, they unravel fast and Troy sure has mastered the art of unravelling! But I'm in danger of giving it all away. You know that feeking, when you discover something you really like so you want to tell everybody? That's Through the Woods. Well written and well paced, with good 3 dimensional characters. Secrets, excitement and chills. They're all here. But don't just take my word for it people. Buy it. Make a start on your Troy Blackford collection because, if there's any justice in this world, or the world of good books, then this is surely the first of many by Troy Bkackford
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I was very pleasantly suprised by this book. Without giving too much away I love how the book in parts is told by the "other than humans".
I would reccomend it to anyone that loves science fiction and cats.
Also love how the forests are so accurately described (as it is set in Minnesota and I grew up there).
Very much worth the time to read this book. Flew through it in less than 24 hours (and that was with a full day at work as well).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
A tale of secret governmental testing, and of psychic cats. Sounds farcical, i know, but Troy Blackford delivers this tale in his own original style, drawing you in, telling the story from multiple viewpoints, including the cats'!
A delightful read, filled with humour, lots of horror, and of course, the cats!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
From the first page to the last, you won't want to put it down.

The characterisation of the cats is likely spot on & combined with a sci-fi, conspiracy & sibling rivalry plot that is unique.

I'd recommend to all lovers of fiction & not just a particular 'genre'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
If you like government conspiracies and psychic cats then this book will not disappoint. In fact this may be the only book to tackle the combined subject matter.

The absurdity of the situation is carried well by some oddly endearing characters during the first half of the book which is fast paced and filled with page turning action. The characters are relatively well defined within the context of the book and are often believeable (in an unbelievable situation). I propelled myself through the first half of the book in two sittings.

The latter half of the book takes a different direction and a different pace with the focus on the experiment subjects rather than the other characters we have met. This was a little disappointing to me as I had invested in the exisiting, now missing, characters.

To summarise: It is a kooky novel that doesn't take itself too seriously and as a reader you're advised to take the same approach to your reading of it. Enoyable and recommended to all my crazy cat lady friends.

Note:
Troy is an emerging author and this is one of his first published novels. In some respects this is evident in this novel which sometimes feels a little rough around the edges and in need of an editors eye to iron out a few kinks. Troy is available to talk to via twitter and welcomes feedback from fans regarding his work. His open approach to receiving feedback leaves me confident that future novels will be worth seeking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Troy has a vivid imagination and this is a great book. A completely different take on government experiments and psychic powers, with different viewpoints that switch around to keep the story flowing. The premise may sound odd but it works - you'll be rooting for some characters before you know it. Definitely worth a read! Troy is active on Twitter and very approachable; he welcomes feedback and interacts with fans regularly. One to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
This was my first exploration into the fictional writings of author Troy Blackford! Wow, I could not put the book down! A story of science fiction with a subtle element of truth running through it. Man with his "experiments" on animals and the consequences. There are twists and turns, suspense, horror, blood and death. Good fighting evil and the hero of the story is a cat! If you love science fiction and a gripping tale, this one is definitely for you. I highly recommend it! look forward to choosing another book by Troy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
I came across Troy on Twitter and bought this to see what it was about. From the opening pages I was hooked. Beautifully written and only a matter of time before this man is a household name along with King, Koontz, Herbert, Dahl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
...concept! Well written and very engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Secret government facility/paranormal cats a go-go!! "Meow!" Well worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Well written , the mind boggles thinking about these places . It was funny scary and tender . A really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here