Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
1,375
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Everyone thinks they know about Alice in Wonderland - my own 'knowledge' comes from years of obsessive viewing of the superlative Disney feature as a child - but this terrific little book will prove you wrong. There are enough notes in here to keep even the most apathetic reader pacified; and the book is designed in such a way that the notes aid the reader, rather than becoming a constant pain. Presented alongside the text (reproduced with original Tenniel drawings of the characters) the notes are immediate and gripping, and whether you are studying this book or merely reading it for pleasure, i can thoroughly reccommend this edition. Well worth your money and your time.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
People tend to lump "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" and "Through the Looking-Glass (and What Alice Found There)" into one collection which has taken on the new title of "Alice in Wonderland". This is probably a product of the movies, which took bits and pieces from each and made a composite adventure. This was possible, because Lewis Carroll (a.k.a. Reverend Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) managed to make the stories so even in quality that they can be put together seamlessly. He also managed to keep the stories enough different, that one can still enjoy reading both of them one after the other, without the feeling that the second is just a retelling of the first.

To be sure, there are several ways in which the stories are similar, but not to the point where it detracts from the reader's enjoyment of the story. There are only three characters which appear in both books, one of which is Alice. The other notable characters (the Cheshire Cat, the Queen of Hearts, Tweedledum and Tweedledee, Humpty Dumpty, etc.) are well distributed between the two books. Thus there is a looking-glass between the two, just as the looking-glass plays such a key role in the second book.

The Penguin Classics edition of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass" includes both books including the illustrations by John Tenniel. It also includes the original "Alice's Adventures under Ground" which includes Lewis Carroll's artwork. For additional features, it includes `"Alice" on the Stage' an article which Lewis Carroll wrote after seeing a production of the stage version, and it includes preface's to the books which Lewis Carroll wrote in 1896 for the 1897 editions. There are wonderful notes for both books, and a very informative introduction by Hugh Haughton. There is other supporting material as well. To sum up, this edition has pretty much anything one could want, other than a complete collection of Carroll's work.

A last comment on the introduction, it covers the biographical information for Reverend Dodgson, and the information on how the stories came about. Some of this information may detract from one's enjoyment of the story, but one can certainly understand the decision to include it for those who are interested in Reverend Dodgson and his life. All in all, this edition is packed with everything and will suit those who just want to read the stories as well as those who want to delve deep into their origins.
66 comments| 114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
I collect editions of Lewis Carroll's Alice books (Wonderland & Looking Glass) illustrated by different artists.
I will not review the text, other than say that it's fantastic, just read it and see for yourself...

Here we have the unabrigded text and a coloured version of John Tenniel's drawings. Tenniel was the first artist to illustate Alice. The drawings were commissioned by Carroll himself, and Tenniel made them in close cooperation with the author. These drawings are iconic, and a must for every reader, and should of course be in every Alice-collection.

I find that this edition (isbn. 0333679563), with two volumes (hardbacks with dust jackets) in a beautiful and very sturdy slipcase, is very successful.
The artwork is clear and has lovely colours. The set is a joy to ovn.

I have posted a few pictures, I hope they show why I love this set so much!

( Isbn. 9781509801060 is the same book set in a slightly bigger format. The illustrations and the layout of the stories are exactly the same, but the covers and the book jackets are more modern. And this set has an even prettier slipcase illustrated for the 150th anniversary of the first Alice book. I have written a review with pictures also for this book set. )

.....................................

An added continuation to the review above :

#1 Some general BACKGROUND INFORMATION about  THE ILLUSTRATIONS in "WONDERLAND" and "LOOKING GLASS" : 

"Alice in Wonderland" was first published in 1865.  "Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There" was first published in 1871. The illustrations in those first books were Tenniel's drawings in black & white.  

Carroll also published "The Nursery Alice" in 1890.  That is a very simplyfied version of "Alice in Wonderland" for small children.  For that book Tenniel slightly altered and coloured 20 of the drawings that he had made for the 1865 "Alice in Wonderland"-book.  Here Alice has a yellow dress, green stockings, and her apron has very broad green bands tied in a big bow at her back. And she has a green bow in her hair (no Alice band...). Carroll had strong opinions on how the coloured drawings should look, and as always he got his way... The illustrations in "The Nursery Alice" have quite strong colours. 

..........................  

#2 About THIS PARTICULAR EDITION,  the beautiful 2 VOLUME SET IN A SLIPCASE (isbn. 0333679563): 

The coloured illustrations (watercolours) in this edition, that I posted pictures of above, were made by Harry G. Theaker in 1911. That is he made 16 of them. The rest, so most of them really, were made IN THE SAME STYLE by Diz Wallis in 1995 for this edition.  

So, to make it clear, in 1911, long after Carroll had passed away, THE VERSION OF ALICE WITH THE BLUE DRESS OCCURED. The blue-dressed Alice that soon became iconic, and that many nowadays think of as "the original Alice"... Maybe this 1985 edition, the beautiful 2 volume set in a slipcase, is the first edition with ALL the illustrations in colour ?  It would be interesting if someone could confirm or deny this...
review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2008
If you like imaginative, funny, and non -putting- down stories, then Alice Through the Looking glass is the book for you. This is the 2nd book Lewis Carol wrote.
Alice goes to bed and finds out that she can travel through her dreams! Travel with Alice through the strange world called " REFLECTION ".
This is one of my favourite books. I like this book because he uses these words mimes, door post, natural, and curiously. I also like the way Lewis Carol expressed and thought what the characters were going to say. This book would be for 8 and over.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
I love the characters, the funny dialogues and Carroll's playing with words and logics in the text of "Alice in Wonderland" and "Alice through the Looking Glass". The first time I read the 2 books is only a couple of years ago. Those editions were cheap paperbacks with Tenniels drawings in black & white. You could say I fell down the rabbit hole with Alice, and never got out again. So now I collect editions of Lewis Carroll's Alice books (Wonderland & Looking Glass) illustrated by different artists.

Here we have the unabrigded text and a coloured version of John Tenniel's drawings. Tenniel was the first artist to illustate Alice. The drawings were commissioned by Carroll himself, and Tenniel made them in close cooperation with the author. These drawings are iconic, and a must for every reader, and a good edition with these illustrations in colour should of course be in every Alice-collection. Quality keepsake editions always give "an extra dimension" to a text, and that is exactly what this bookset is !

The books are big; 22,5 x 28 cm, they are hardbacks with paper book jackets. They come in a beautiful 150 years anniversary slipcase. The back of the slipcase is 5,5 cm wide (!). When this bookset arrived at my house I thought ; what on earth have I ordered which is so heavy... This bookset is to be enjoyed at home, not for travelling...

The illustrations are beautiful. The colours are lovely (some of them come out darker in my photoes than what they are in real life). I highly recommend this boxed set!

The booksets identification number is 9781509801060 and 1509801065. One should check both numbers...
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
'The Annotated Alice' is one of the best deconstructions of the Alice books that I have encountered. Gardner shows his extensive knowledge on these marvellous books with fluent and articulate ease, whilst managing to not to distract from the original texts. Both 'Alice's Adventures in Wonderland' and 'Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There' are superbly annotated and provide an interesting and informative perspective of the books. The vast and complex subtexts of Dodgson's finest works are explored intricately and the levels of nuance will undoubtably appeal to both children (who will be rapt by the background history to the Alice books and the parodies of well-known verse) and adults (who will be fascinated by the startling complexities, mathematical implications and political references that Gardner reveals). All in all, along with the riveting introduction, Martin Gardner portrays himself as one of the difinitive experts of the most famous children's books ever written.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 1999
This is Martin Gardner's classic edition of Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland and Alice through the Looking-Glass, annotated to explain, for the modern reader, the wealth of hidden references in the books: mathematics, chess, logic, Victorian politics, the original poems Carroll parodied, and much more.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
This is a VERY beautiful book.
I am guilty of often buying more than one copy of a book, one to read and one to keep.
This is one I would try to keep in good condition.
It has the original illustrations in it, looks like an 'old' book, one that would grace any library in a gothic type mansion.
As a book lover, I don;t just enjoy reading them, I enjoy collecting beautiful books too, and this is one of them.
I won;t comment on the story as, I suspect anyone looking at this knows the story very well but, if you want a beautiful book that you'll want to keep safe forever, this is certainly one.
11 comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2001
I read the original text of Carroll's masterpiece when I was 18 years old (I'm 22 now). I knew only interpretations made by Russian writers before. They were funny but not comparable to the original. So I enjoyed myself from the first page of Alice's Adventures In Wonderland to the last of Through The Looking Glass. The book is so brilliant, full of clever humor, paradoxes and parodies. The so-called "nonsense" is very amusing and by no means without sense. Of course I sometimes missed meanings of Carroll's parodies and allusions. Later I read different references and explanations. The searching of meaning made the book even more interesting in my eyes. There is no need in mentioning characters of both books for they are widely known, but I can't stand the temptation. First of all - Alice herself. She is such a charming and sensible young lady. I laughed a lot at her thoughts and commentaries to the events. And then White Rabbit, Mad Hatter, March Hare, Caterpillar, Cheshire Cat, Mock Turtle, strange birds, the intelligent Mouse, Tweedledee and Tweedledum, Humpty Dumpty, Duchess, King and Queen of Hearts, etc - they are creations of true genius. I also liked immensely Carroll's poems included in the books. I often notice that I am repeating lines from them. As for my favourite The Walrus And The Carpenter, I know it by heart. Wit, fantasy and magic make Alice's Adventures a superb children's book as well as a source of great pleasure for adults. Classical illustrations add more charm to this addition. I prefer them to more modern images (by Disney for example).
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2001
I picked this book up again aged 26 having not read it for 15 years and it transported me to a magical, mystical world where anything was possible! Lewis Carroll's classic tale of childhood fantasy is a must read for all children and adults alike! Carroll's art lies in description...allow him to indulge you in tales of Mad Hatters having tea parties with White Rabbits in the woods, the terrifying Queen of Hearts threatening to behead the body-less Cheshire Cat and lotions and potions saying 'Drink Me'...will she grow or will she shrink...read the book to find out!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse