Thrice Upon A Theme has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.49

Thrice Upon A Theme CD

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £12.24 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
AutoRip is available only for eligible CDs and vinyl sold by Amazon EU Sarl (but does not apply to gift orders or PrimeNow orders). See Terms and Conditions for full details, including costs which may apply for the MP3 version in case of order returns or cancellations.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
19 new from £10.00 2 used from £9.99
£12.24 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (12 Mar. 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Aim Records
  • ASIN: B000F3A7DC
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,725,431 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. What Is This Thing Called Love
  2. Minor Intrusions
  3. Spur Of The Moment
  4. Thrice Upon A Theme
  5. Four Hands
  6. Stormy Weather

Disc: 2

  1. Laura
  2. Hamp's New Blues
  3. Summertime
  4. Dizzy Moods
  5. Yeaterdays
  6. Back Home Blues
  7. I Can't Get Started

Product Description

Product Description

These are rare recordings made in 1954 for Pearl Records and '57 for the Jubilee label, sessions that bookend his hugely successful period with Atlantic Records and predate his signing to Columbia. The former were originally released as two 10" LPs and feature a sextet including Thad Jones on trumpet and John La Porta and Teo Macero on saxes. (Macero became in house producer for Columbia and oversaw all of Miles Davis' classic recordings for the label.) The latter recordings are of the The Mingus Three featuring Hampton Hawes on piano and Danni Richmond on drums.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I am Charles Mingus's biggest UK fan.

For me, Mingus reached maturity in February 1957 when he recorded "The Clown".

The first disc is before that time- about 1954 I think- and is interesting but possibly only to people who want to understand how Mingus developed. It does, however, have some blistering trumpet playing from Thad Jones on it.

The second disc, for me, is very different. It was recorded in July 1957 with Dannie Richmond on drums and a drug-addled Hampton Hawes on piano- you'd never know it, though, 'cos his playing is wonderful. This session is mentioned in passing in Hawes' autobiography, "Raise Up On Me," well worth a read if a bit sad.

Mingus Three

Because of the first disc, I can only give four stars. The second disc is easily available on its own, usually known as "Mingus Three." But, if you don't have either of them, buy them both here for Thad Jones's playing on the first disc then see if you agree with me about the second.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions