Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 May 2013
Fans of Tim Powers know what to expect - and they won't at a surface level be disappointed. Complex plot stretching back in history, check. Love interest, but not enough of one to get in the way of the action, check. Supernatural powers and Fate with a capital F, check. The only problem is that this feels a little flabbier than the earlier books. Not quite as much happens. I cared less about the characters. I didn't stay up all night to finish it - indeed, it lay with twenty pages left to read for more than a week, waiting for me to summon the energy. My advice would be, then, to read the 90s and 2000s material first, and only start Three Days to Never if you decide that you are a Powers completist. It isn't a bad book at all, but - as sadly so often - the earlier books are better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2017
Another Tim Powers excursion that takes your mind on a wild ride. Well worth the effort with a cast of familiar and new characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2015
Hidden messages in films, time travelling, Mossad involved in fighting secret occult organisations... And references to some of his other books. A new printing of a book that came out a few years ago,which caught me out as I am a fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2013
This is a dense novel. Thick with wordy concepts but worth sticking with. The central character's slowly emerging awareness of his grandmother's involvement with Einstein and time travel and it's effect on him and his daughter is well conceived and artfully written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2015
a good read, full of suspense
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2013
A wonderful read but not a patch on others such as Anubis Gates and Stress of her Regard. Characters lacked substance but the story was, as usual, impeccably woven.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
Being a Tim Powers novel means Three Days to Never is hugely ambitious in scope. I cannot reveal too much of the plot without spoiling the fun, but let's just say that readers will enjoy the many twists and surprises here. Fans of parallel world's, alternate history, science fiction and the paranormal will really enjoy this.

Powers does have a writing style that may take getting used to. Luckily I had already read two of his previous novels, but sometimes you do have to tread carefully to fully understand what is going on.

Rather than a direct Hemmingway-esque way of saying something is happening or has happened, Powers tends to over elaborate on something quite mundane. For example even the action of eating can take him several paragraphs, I was waiting for some deep meaning or plot reveal, but no, it was literally just father and daughter enjoying a meal together!

It is little surprise then, with padding like this, the novel clocks in at an unnecessarily overlong 420 pages.

For the most part, it is intriguing and original. I thoroughly enjoyed the Einstein and Chaplin subplots and how the Marritys uncovered all the many layers of their family past.

There is plenty of gripping action and with all the rules different here, you really don't know what to expect and who will live and who won't. Again, this is not taking place in a `fixed world' where everything is final.

Once finished I thought that I had read another highly creative and inventive story which suffered slightly from the padding I mentioned earlier. A slick Tim Powers thriller would really be something to behold. But I am sure this will please his fans and add many new ones.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
The Anubis Gates by this author is one of the best books that I've ever read.
Sadly, this one is one of the worst!
After struggling to get to the halfway point I just couldn't handle the ever increasing
weird bits, with monster in a box and astral planes, and cars splitting into three.

So, I terminated my attempt.
To begin with it was promising with Father and daughter up against two factions, but,
as the strange complications began to cram the plot, gradually I lost the heart to carry on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2013
Better than expected - although the blurb is a bit misleading. Interesting blend of science fiction and fantasy that holds together well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Alternate Routes
£18.08

Need customer service? Click here