Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
For anyone really interested in some basic principles of Buddhist teachings and thought, even if they may feel skeptical about some aspects of Psychotherapy, this could be a good and informative book. It is accessible, and makes one think - even if one is not a thinker! A potentially mind-opening book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Excellent understanding and comparisons of western psychology and buddhist psychology. And also interspersed with some relevant and interesting personal stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Absolutely marvelous read into the links between the principles of psychotherapy and those of Buddhism. For those who have no exposure to psychotherapy it may be a little dense in places but the writing is otherwise clear and flowing. I recommend this to anyone who is seeking to bridge the approaches of West and East in their quest for a deep sense of wellbeing and understanding of the "self".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Very clear and thoughful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2000
This book demonstrates in a readable, entertaining style how Buddhist philosophy and western psychotherapeutic approaches can be married together and indeed complement each other to form a wholly more inclusive way of dealing with psychological problems. It gives a summary of the basic tenets of Buddhism and the meditative approach to fulfillment but demonstrates how this is of itself insufficient to the western person with their wholly different lifestyle and background to the eastern mystics. At the same time it shows how the western psychotherapeutic approach has its limitations which can be advanced by the introduction of the Buddhist philosophy and metitative techniques. it is a book equally applicable to those with psychological problems that they are seeking to deal with as it is to those who are looking for self-development. A book that can be thoroughly enjoyed by the casual reader, those looking to explore and develop their inner worlds or the practising therapist.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
As a practitioner of buddhist meditation I found this book a wonderful recap of the basic principles and challenges/doubts faced during its practice.

I also found the discussion on the differing roles of ego in psychotherapy and meditation especially illuminating. Would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in buddhist philosophy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
Epstein talks of contemporary Western simultaneous hunger and fear of relating with others like few others have. I felt greatly influenced - no, affected - by this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2001
As an aspiring psychology student, I purchased this book with the intention of simply seeing psychoanalsis through a new perspective. However, after carefully reading this work, including the insightful introduction from the Dalai Lama, I soon realized that I not only had a new conception of psychoanalysis, but of Buddhism as well. This book should be especially picked up by anyone who has ever seen Buddhism as yet another 'New Age' concept or 'feel good' pseudo-science. Finally, the West has an opportunity to not only get a good understanding of Buddhism through terms we can relate to, but also an unique vision of the possibilities of psychoanalysis.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
A
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
really good. thought provoking as well. I bought a second copy for a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse