Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2010
This is a film I saw more years ago than I care to remember, and always harboured a heart's desire both to get the dvd and to see the film again. It is brilliantly funny and harmless, aswell as aeronautically and romantically interesting, and with many comic actors. Since getting the dvd, I have watched it several times, enjoying the fun every time. Incidentally, a former friend who lived near Borehamwood [near the studios] told me well over 40 years ago that the use of the name "Ware Armitage" came from a visit by one of the production team to a Gents, where he read on the porcelain: "Armitage Ware". [I think nowadays, one would read: "Armitage Shanks".] Such is some of the humour of the film, where the regular place for ditching seems to be in the sewage farm! I don't know how I managed for all those years without this wonderful dvd.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
A disappointment, the film is an hour too long, it is disjointed and it runs out of plot. The few running gags are overworked and the celebrity cameos are almost pointless. The old planes and the scenery are the best features but they are not enough.to make up for the bad direction. Boo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
The movie is made approximately 1960, but the time colorite is 1910. Four years later, the world was thrown into "The Great War", or World War I. In retrospect, it is not very difficult to see what we could have made different in order to escape the atrocities of both WWI and WWII. Yes, I did enjoy the movie, and I am utterly pleased to add it to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's a hugely enjoyable film, make no mistake. The attention to detail in recreating the look & feel of the early days of flying is superb. The strength of the film is in that, and in the sight gags. The weakness is in the artificial attempt to provide romantic tension between the British & American flyers fighting over Lord Rawnsley's daughter (unconvincingly played by Sarah Miles). It's a very simple story, but a decent film nevertheless, and well worth the sub £4 price (at the time of writing), albeit it's definitely a 4* rather than 5* effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
A classic light comedy which has stood the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
A very complete excellent copy of this masterful film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
one of the funniest film I've ever seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Its oldie goldie with lovely planes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
No as good as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)