Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Thor [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 July 2015
Specifically a 3D review of one of my favourite Marvel films:

A common complaint of Marvel 3D films when converted from 2D [in the film process] to a 3D film - is that the subsequent film is often too dark.
It's all too evident with this release [one of Marvel's 1st 3D releases] - the film is dark and it only passably adequate as a 3D release, with scenes that you would think would be excellent in 3D actually being only vaguely 3-dimensional. Disappointing considering some of the other excellent Marvel 3D releases; [Guardians of the Galaxy, Avengers Assemble, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Captain America: Civil War and Guardian of the Galaxy Vol 2 - being 3D highlights.]
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2016
OK, quite interesting, it has sections where it moves along quite briskly and others where it tends to drag. I think the latter may preponderate. I fell asleep a couple of times and had to go back. Another genre for director Branagh to add to his CV: it's almost as if he's searching for a different niche after all the Shakespeare and Merchant Ivory kind of stuff. Frankly, this has the experimental look of the work of a filmmaker trying to find a way to tell a story. Hemsworth is likeable enough, Skarsgard and especially Portman seem to me to have the haunted looks of people doing work that's beneath them. I used to read Marvel comics as a kid. I hear they were on the verge of collapse in the 80s-90s when Hollywood came to the rescue. Good for Stan Lee, but now they've almost become too big, and you're getting talented actors and directors attempting to mine gold from such paltry fare as for example 2004's the Punisher. Ultimately perfunctory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2017
thor is sent to earth ,his powers taken away after his father teaches him a lesson.his evil brother tries to take the throne of their father odin,,,thor must get his powers aback and help humanity and his father.a good adventure film..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2017
An entertaining film in the Marvel universe. I found some of it a bit clichéd, corny, contrived and hammy in places.

However, aside from the spoiled brat bits by Thor near the beginning; I did really enjoy it. Very witty in places, lots of action.

Brat becomes humble was done with humour, displayed desperation, resignation and redemption.

Enjoyed watching it, no regrets.

Helpful to have seen Ironman first but not essential, will just miss a few insider jokes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2015
Yeah,a pretty damn good film.Chris Hemsworth really does the part justice.I couldn't believe his physique ! The scene where he falls to earth and tries to retrieve his hammer is very impressive.This film seems well researched and follows the Myth closely but with a modern interpretation.
Anthony Hopkins does a brilliant job of being a powerful God of a Father.The arrogance of the early Thor is good to see,especially when he uses his hammer to propell him right throught and out the back of a giant creature's throat.I was cheering him on ! The FX were very good and definitely heightened my enjoyment of the film.The involvement of Shield was unexpected too but nicely done with great humour.At the end of the credits there is an intriguing twist regarding the Professor.The sound the hammer makes when bashing opponents is very erm,striking...
Almost 2 hours of good fantasy entertainment,I wanted more of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2014
The film that brings 'marvel-comic' hero 'Thor' (Chris Hemsworth) to the screen.
Telling the tale of 'arrogant' and fearless warrior 'Thor' who's antic's see him banished from 'Asgard' to earth losing his super-powers, where he becomes befriended by 'Jane' (Natalie Portman)
He now has to win back favour of his father 'Odin' (Anthony Hopkins)( however his brother 'Loki' (Tom Hiddleston) has other plans for the fallen hero, 'Earth' becomes threatened 'Thor' will need his powers and his weapon 'The Hammer' to defend his new friends.
This is an action packed joy-ride for super-hero fans filled with much in the way of fantasy violence.
As my title suggest's------The Special -Effects are Top-Drawer.........
Great Picture and Sound Quality Throughout.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2015
Not the best of the marvel films in my opinion, but still good.

A few scenes at the beginning in the land of Ice that are quite dark; found I couldn't really make out what was going on in the fights when I watched that bit in the cinema, so good to see it at home.

Definitely benefits from the classical direction of Kenneth Branagh.

Tom Hiddleston's first appearance as Loki is one of the best things about this film - although his real breakout was in Avengers Assemble.

Has a bit of mystery about who Thor is - he is separated from his hammer for quite a lot of the film and so for a bit the action is a bit more down to Earth.

And of course there are scenes setting up the Avenger's movie that was to come - including the now obligatory post-credits scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2014
The Daily Mirror is quoted on the front cover of the DVD - ''Spectacular!'' and on the back - ''Brilliant!'' The special effects are spectacular and the costumes in Thor's homeworld of Asgard are brilliant. For some reason everything else left me feeling a bit flat. Unlike other reviewers I thought the love interest lacked sparkle, Natalie Portman seemed unbelievably bland, Chris Hemsworth wasn't a superhero to be taken seriously (with or without his hammer) Anthony Hopkins pretty much played himself with an eyepatch, and the Frost Giant baddies had great potential to put the wind up the tough guys, and gal, but turned out to be pathetically easy to beat in a fight. Perhaps, as I'm not a Marvel Comic enthusiast, I didn't take this film seriously enough. The critics liked it, most reviewers liked it, I quite liked it but couldn't convince myself to give it four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
Great action, solid humour, and a good ending! Thor is portrayed very closely to his comic character, in terms of powers, attitude,etc. The arc of the story was well laid out and the pacing was balanced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2015
A super-hero loses his powers, his home and family to an evil trickster at the heart of fabled Asgard. Will he get his powers back? Course he will. But what is good about this movie is that director Branagh knows about acting and character and this film has loads of small but effective cameos that keep your interest flowing. The best actor of his age gets a performance from everyone, including Hopkins that surpasses the script. The scenes in Asgard could have dragged the momentum of the movie to a crawl but Branagh keeps the camera on his cast and they respond. A very good family film that knows about pantomime, but shrewdly avoids it by committing to Stan Lee's Marvel universe. Its lighthearted, imaginative and well worth spending time on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)