Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 18 November 2017
Very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2015
This is academic book and scrupulously provides the facts, suppositions and blanks about Thomas Cromwell. I wouldn't really call it a biography though as it doesn't try to find a narrative through the man's life but is instead more a very readable list of what is known about him. Also unless you are versed in Tudor history you will be let rather puzzled as the Loades rarely expands on events, processes of Tudor court and government or give background to other people involved. I read it immediately after Wolf Hall & Bring Up The Bodies which probably provide the minimal primer to get to read this book. I've not actually read it to completion but have followed events up until the death of Anne and read some of the appendices. So a very succinct account of Cromwell but read something else to get the bigger picture!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2015
Useful review of the aspects for which actual hard evidence exists. The author's views and analysis are clearly labelled as such and the prejudices of earlier secondary sources are not repeated as fact, as is the case with a more recent biography of Cromwell.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2017
Having read Tracy Borman's book on Cromwell's life, I am having a hard time with this and just cannot get into it. Not at all engaging like Borman, just fact, fact, fact. Doubt I will finish it. I have restarted it twice already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2015
Excellent and well balanced. A good help with a wider perspective than Wolfhall
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2015
A well researched and written book about an astute and highly intelligent politician who was much maligned and poorly rewarded for his loyalty to Henry VIII be being beheaded. Cromwell comes alive in this book and is portrayed as a loyal servant to an ever increasingly difficult and vicious monarch. Well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2015
This book provides detailed insight in to the life and death of Thomas Cromwell. The sourcing is fantastic. This is NOT Wolf Hall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2016
the book was for my wife who is a great reader of historical books and thought it was excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2015
I am really into the tudor history and I loved this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2015
Can't wait to read it;
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)