Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 30 September 2012
Leslie Thomas' first book, his autobiography about growing up as a Barnardos boy during and after WW2. Hilarity and sadness, an excellent book written in an excellent style. Was once a set O-level text, but I first met it in the early 1970s when my sister bought it and I've re-read it six or seven times in the intervening years. See also his 'second' autobiography written in the 1980s - 'In My Wildest Dreams', which covers the same period in more depth and perception but then continues with his National Service time and his reporter/writer life after that. Just as good, and well worth having both.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Another great tale of his early days. Well written and an interesting glimpse at orphanage life in that time period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
The condition wasn't up to the description. I would only give it a C rating. The book was X library but this was not stated and it was covered in a sticky grime, which I had to clean before I could attempt to read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
I bought this as a present for my sister, who had read it years ago and loved it then. She still loves it since reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
Very touching story. True to the 1950's that I remember, and recalling the racial prejudice of that post war era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
One of my most favorite books i laughed and cried while reading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
brought back memories as i read this book many years ago. Thank you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
print too small - writer good but can't read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Prompt receipt. Book as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
a little tatty but good reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)