Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2017
Another good read. Not as good as the 1st book, but still enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
One of the two funniest books I ever read, sent me into fits of laughter. Great read :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
This book was compulsive reading with all the different situations he found himself in. A bit scary as my husband does this job too. Looking forward to reading the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
Made me laugh. Mostly set overseas but I can see lots of the behaviour I saw in the North Sea. Obviously not meant to be instructive - I'd read Bill Mackie first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
not as good as the piano player
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Exactly as described and received within a few days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
Okay, so you write a book about your wild and weird experiences on an oil rig ('Don't Tell Mum..'), it's pretty good and it manages to sell a surprisingly respectable amount of copies. So the publishers come back to you and say 'Well that last book went down a storm, we need you to write another one'. Your dilemma now is whether to:
A) Admit you've used up all your good material and regretfully decline
B) Happily use all the other fantastic stories you've been holding back or
C) Regurgitate a few well-worn tales that aren't quite the pick of the bunch and take the money.

If you're anything like me and the author of this book, you will go for option C.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 April 2008
This is longer, denser and more mature than the first book, still stuffed full of gross-out humour and stories for grown up boys about drunkenness, pranks, motorbikes and dangerous situations.

Paul Carter's style is very readable, but this sequel has even less of an oilfield theme than the first book. Here we hear flying stories from Paul's dad and his Air Force mates, Paul goes on an interesting but unexplained trip through Afghanistan, and we stray so far off track that much of it has hardly got anything to do with the drilling of the title.

So anyone expecting to read something with any connection to the oil industry will be disappointed, or at least confused.

Still, if you're looking for a rip-roaring, rollicking roster of drunken antics, tropical diseases and bad behaviour, you won't go far wrong.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 February 2008
Really enjoyed the author's first book and read this one straight after.
The first book was very original and contained some great tales and escapades and I suppose I was looking for more here. In this one Carter tells a few more tales but mixes in some serious stuff and some views on the way of the world. Obviously the best tales got used in the first book and here is is looking to do something slightly different.
This is still very entertaining and readable but does not hit the highs of the first one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse